Questions I Don’t Know the Answer To

April 30, 2009 at 8:27 am 10 comments

Are the ones that interest me the most. They are the ones I spend the most time trying to answer. * Yes, I was the child in Sunday school every teacher hates to have. *

When have you gone passed the point of being able to redeem yourself or your actions?

Are some things unforgiveable?

Can beliefs go too far?

What is normal?

What is love?

What is family?

I’m drawn to the grays area between yes and no. It’s why I’m drawn to the law. It’s why I write. I want my answers. I want to write books where people disagree with my answers, and a dialogue is open. I want to know the boundaries of those gray areas.

But the big question is does that make me different? Do other writers just write a story that comes to mind without ever answering a gray area question for themselves?

Some would say no. Their stories have no reflection on who they are or their beliefs. The worlds and characters they build are fictional. And just that.

Some would say does a bear crap in the woods? Okay, maybe not that, but something like it.

And, then again I’m drawn to that gray area. Are certain stories in a writer’s life the gray area they are trying to find their way through and some, just fictional?

How do you answer?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Is it May Yet? Falling Off the Face of The Earth

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  April 30, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Sometimes my stories are just stories and I find the answers to questions I didn’t know I was asking. Other stories start with a question. I have a story about redemption and whether or not it’s too late to forgive for past sins. And my stories aren’t all fiction either. I have always used my writing as a way to puzzle out problems or to heal past wounds. It’s how my writing started so it’s always a part of it.

    You do ask some interesting questions, some I’ve pondered. Want my answers?

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  April 30, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Yes. Gimme.

  • 3. coffeegirl88  |  April 30, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Okay, here goes.

    Being beyond redeption? That’s one of those, you just feel it/know it kind of things. Comes with experience.

    Are some things unforgiveable? ABSOLUTELY. One example, you hurt/break my family and I’ll never forgive it. Unless you apologize, then I’ll probably forgive it.

    Can beliefs go too far? Yup. Seen it, lived through, carry the scars.

    I don’t like the word “normal” because it’s one of those words that means different things to different people. I’ve come to see “normal” as an insult unless it’s coming from a real close friend.

    What is love? Oh, that’s a hard one to pin down.

    What is family? Family are the people you hold closest to your heart. I have a lot of relatives (Dad’s the 3rd of 10) but a fairly small family and not all of my family is blood related.

    There, those are my answers to the rest of your questions.

  • 4. Pamela Cayne  |  April 30, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Brain much too fried to answer hard questions. Brain say need more sleep and more caffeine first. Brain say like Melissa.

  • 5. Raine  |  May 1, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Do other writers just write a story that comes to mind without ever answering a gray area question for themselves?

    Yes.
    And no. 😉

    Yes, I have definitely STARTED stories that just came to mind because they seemed like good stories, the plot/characters appealed to me, etc. Simple, forthright stories.
    But no, they don’t seem to stay that way. At some point, one of those questions you’ve asked, or one of my own, makes its way in, in some form or another.
    So no, you are not alone.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  May 1, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    What is family? Family are the people you hold closest to your heart. I have a lot of relatives (Dad’s the 3rd of 10) but a fairly small family and not all of my family is blood related.

    I hold the same theory. Family is who you make it.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  May 1, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Glad to see even when fried your brain still works in my favor.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  May 1, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    But no, they don’t seem to stay that way.

    Snerk. At the end of every novel it does feel like a sitcom special. And the moral of the story is…

  • 9. The Crazy Woman Inside Me  |  May 1, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    I have a problem with “what is normal?”, Melissa, and I’m not trying to be funny when I say that. I’m serious. I called my personal blog “The Crazy Woman Inside Me” for a very good reason. 🙂

    I come from an abusive, dysfunctional family, I’m a yoyo dieting compulsive overeater and I just never really fit in with any particular group. Still don’t. I’m slightly off center and I’m old enough now to accept and embrace that about myself.

    So that makes being a writer difficult. It works okay when I write nonfiction and tackle a particular subject, but when I write fiction, especially romance, I’m always having to second-guess myself because I’m not sure what I’m thinking & creating will be “normal” enough for the average reader to relate to. Does that make sense?

    Great thoughtful post!

    –Susan/Daisy

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  May 2, 2009 at 12:41 am

    Yes, it makes sense, which is why it was on the list. Your normal is not my normal. Hence, the “reasonable person” in law cracks me up. But, I like normal not being defined ’cause when I think of it, I think Stepford Wives. And, that’s just creepy.

    Also, normal is too much like perfect. The more you try to achieve, the more frustrated you become.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,255 hits

