Guilty Pleasures

April 24, 2009 at 5:11 pm 6 comments

Things we enjoy and those same things we really shouldn’t. For some it’s Maury, “You are not the Father!” or Jerry Springer. It could be soap operas. Or Family Guy.

This got me thinking about my hero. He’s straight-laced. All business. The type to pick lint off his suit, and flick it like it just insulted him. If I kept him this way, no one would like him. He seemed more like a robot than a human. In a sense he is. He wants to appear like he has no weaknesses. So, being the mean writer I am, I gave him a guilty pleasure. One that was inspired from real life.

My hero has a thing for infomericals. With one of the pranks Lynne will play on him, he’ll cave and order items he doesn’t really need. I’m thinking tupperware. Maybe even a ShamWOW. *prostitutes not included*

So, confess to Dr. Blue, and tell me some of your guilty pleasures. Or some of your characters.

Oh, what is mine? I want this to be a ringtone. And, I know who would get it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Excuse Me But Your Snark Is Showing Is it May Yet?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pamela Cayne  |  April 24, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    OMG–I love Family Guy. It is snark to the tenth power!!!

  • 2. Maureen  |  April 24, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    Wow–I just popped over to your blog from Jenny Bent’s and started laughing. My main character has a flaw of ordering things off of infomercials when she has a couple too many glasses of wine. Priceless!

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    I also heart Family Guy.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Infomercials are definitely addictive if you watch for too long. They really make you feel like if you don’t call right that second the greatest thing since sliced bread will be gone forever.

  • 5. aaron simmons  |  April 25, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    another nice post. thank you.

  • 6. ddusty  |  April 27, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    I wish Infomercials were like door-to-door salesmen: once your order their darn stuff, you’d never have to hear another one of their screaming pitches. But, Noooo. Also PBS pledge drives. Same deal, classier, but just as annoying.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

