I Want to be Loribelle Hunt When I Grow Up

April 17, 2009 at 3:45 pm 5 comments

As usual I’m angsting on the phone about my writing career to this fabulous woman. I have a not so secret crush on her and her Georgian accent. I soooo want to be southern after talking to her. It’s kind of pitifull.

Anyway, she asked me what are my books about. I couldn’t answer. Never really thought of my stories being about something outside of boy meets girl. The purpose is to get over myself so I can write in other genres if I wanted to, because no matter the window dressing (genre or sub-genre) authors retell the same stories. JAK mentioned this during “The Secrets of the Bestselling Sisterhood” talk she does at RWA. She found marriage of convenience to be the heart of most of her stories. She took that nugget and placed it in contemporaries and historicals. And, voila she finally started to sell.

La Nora talks about how she plans each book. *snerk* Bad will always defeat evil. Love will conquer all. Voila she writes both Futuristic, Paranormal, Suspense, Straight Contemporaries.

So, what does Melissa Blue write?

Redemption is a huge, huge thing now that I think about it. Neil comes to mind. Acceptance, Gib come to mind. But it’s something that all my characters are searching for deep down in their little Ids–Home and Family. *head desk* One character usually represents this or these characters find it with each other AND you know my cast of a thousand. On some level their idea of home or family is threathened and that’s what spurs my characters on their journey. *head desk*

I digress.

Why I want to be her when I grow up? She assesses the issue, finds a solution and waits for you to report back accordingly. She’s just like a mother–always right in the end. *grumbles* But I so want to be that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Uh, Universe, Thanks I got the Memo What I Did Today

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Loribelle  |  April 18, 2009 at 9:03 am

    It’s amazing what pops up when you actually check your Google alerts. And really? Who doesn’t want to be me? LOL. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Seriously, like we talked about the other night, I don’t think you have to know what what your theme is necessarily, but I do think we all have one. And if you know what yours is? More power to you. Don’t get hung up on it, but use it when you can. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I want to be me when I grow up to lol. ๐Ÿ˜€

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  April 18, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Who doesnโ€™t want to be me?

    I don’t know because you totally rock socks. Anyway, the real reason I wanted to know–outside of curiousity– is that I’m trying to get over the feeling that I’m somehow selling my soul for possibly writing in a different genre. The whole write what you love thing gets me. I want to explore the things I like. Not a follower, but I like what’s marketable in this current climate. Want to know if I can write it without losing “me”.

    Does that make sense?

    Anyway, the themes I write over and over is the true me. At least for the moment. In a year or two another theme may attract me, but right now I’m in the here and now.

    Okay, I would write more, but it’s still early in the morning. Need more coffee.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  April 18, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Oh, and google alert is the best thing known to man. Unfortunately, when I get hits for my name it’s for other famous “Melissa”.

  • 4. Sarah Simas  |  April 19, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Hi Melissa! It’s Sarah from YRW and KC Writers.

    I wanted to let you know I bookmarked your blog. I love your humor! :o)

    And while you’re looking up at Loribelle, if you look down, you’d see me waving up at you! LOL See, we all have heroes!

    Good luck and thanks for blessing the world with your gift of writing.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  April 21, 2009 at 2:34 am

    Oh, thank you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

