Uh, Universe, Thanks I got the Memo

April 15, 2009 at 6:43 pm 4 comments

Have a lot of blog posts been cropping up saying you have to up your game. Or is it just me?

If it’s just me then Universe I got the memo. I’m doing just that, hence the year of the writer. It can also just mean I need to get my sorry tail off the internet.

So, how do I know I’m doing this?

Well, I’m not the same writer I was three years ago. Heck, I’m not the same writer I was a year ago. I still don’t know when to cut, but I do know I get there eventually. I never used to do that. I used to guard my words like they were precious jewels. Here’s the thing about precious jewels, when they first come out of the ground they are old, crusty rocks. No one would wear that first phase even if you paid them. That old, crusty rock is then cut and shaped into what we see today. Yeah, think about it, people throw away diamond, ruby, emerald dust that is useless. It’s then inspected by other individuals and a price tag is slapped on it, but what you get out of that old, crusty rock is worth something. You look at the beautiful piece of jewerly and never think about what it looked like before it got to you.

I didn’t know that. I had blinders on in which I believe my WIPs were already jewels. I didn’t toss away nothing. Worse, I tried to sell that old crusty rock to people.

Oh, the shame.

The main lesson I’ve learned, publishing isn’t going anywhere. No time soon at least. And, why not take my time to cut and shape that worthless piece of rock into something someone would actually want to own. The better question is why wouldn’t every writer?

Patience is one. Timing is another. And, having the tools to do it is really the challenge for me.

So, today’s question: Did you get the memo?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

That’s It, I’m Writing A Paranormal-Futuristic-Interracial-Erotic Romance I Want to be Loribelle Hunt When I Grow Up

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    I got a similar memo. Mine said get off your lazy butt and finish something.

    I’m not sure how much of it is a new message but rather we’re in the headspace to hear it now so, of course, we’re hearing it now.

    And of course I’m doing anything and everything (including watching the progress of the weekly virus scan) but writing.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  April 17, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    I’m not sure how much of it is a new message but rather we’re in the headspace to hear it now so, of course, we’re hearing it now.

    You have a point. Someone else will see this memo and interpret it in a different way. Depends where you are at in your writing.

  • 3. Daisy Dexter Dobbs  |  April 18, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Wow, I just loved this post, Melissa. The crusty old rock analogy was perfect. So insightful.

    Don’t even for one minute think you’re not a very talented writer, okay? Seriously, if you can make a blog post that interesting, then you can write fabulous books–and get them published! 😀

    FYI–I put your link on my crazy woman blog’s sidebar.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  April 18, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    Thanks, Daisy. I’m hoping eventually I can get the entire books I write to be this good instead of in some places. It may be a fruitless goal, but still something I want to do.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

