I’m Totally In My Element

April 2, 2009 at 8:37 am 4 comments

Remember when I posted a few weeks back about caveats, you know about patting yourself on the back when it’s well deserved. Well, folks, I finally get my chance to shine. At school. I’ve been designated to give the closing arguments for the mock trial we are having in May. We’ve spent two semesters reading the material of this case–and I’m sure my classmates would agree that it will be burned once we are done–I know it back and forth. I can almost recite pages.

But that’s not what has me all geeked out. Our guest speaker talked about the importance of having a Theme and Theory of our case. I perked up. I know themes. I swim in them as a writer. And, then he said the best way to start opening statements or closing arguments is to tell a story.

OMG!!! Are you kidding me? We can do that?

And, then this man said something that just made me want to marry him. *paraphrased* “Have a compelling opening line.” I’ve got 6 weeks to come up with an opening line, a compelling one. The carrot at the end of the stick is that the winner of this mock trial gets extra credit. At this point in the school process my expectations are low. Just give me a freaking C so I can get my Paralegal Certificate.

But, the overachiever, buried deep inside, is coming to life. A compelling opening line? And I have 6 weeks to rearrange it, re-write, perfect it until it shines and it rolls off my lips…

I feel so sorry for the other side. I will apologize now and say I’m sorry I drop kicked you. No hard feelings, but it had to be done. I’m going to make your client look like he tortures puppies for kicks and giggles. By the time I am done talking, you are just going to tell the jury you quit. *And, really, you should see the other side’s candidate.*

Yes, sorry that I’m going to have to beat you like you stole something with just my words.

Okay, I’m done gloating. Have you ever “shined”? Doesn’t matter if it’s writing or not. Brag on yourself a little bit, and remember no caveats.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bingo Is In Fact the First Ring of Hell I Did Something Crazy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  April 3, 2009 at 5:54 am

    Bragging on myself huh? Okay. So I’ve had 2 comments on my Flickr account from a quilt shop owner who was very impressed with 2 of my earliest quilts. That made me feel pretty good.

    Um. . . . that’s all my very tired brain can come up with.

    Congrats on your brag by the way and good luck with your closing arguements. I suspect you’ll do just fine.

  • 2. kristy  |  April 3, 2009 at 7:18 am

    Hey now, my guy is not that bad. be honest they both suck. Speaker was awesome though. And if we do lose I know whole heartedly it will be becasue of your rockin closing argument. You will shine.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  April 4, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Oooh, quilts. Do you have a link? *hint, hint*

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  April 4, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Lol. I have a crush on the speaker. There is just something about a man who knows what he is talking about.

    Dear, the other side should just let you do the opening and rest their case.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

