1985 the Bestest Year Ever

March 30, 2009 at 12:59 pm 12 comments

1985 was an incredible year. Here’s are some well known or not so well known facts about this wonderful year.

Madonna’s Like A Virgin is the number one album and single simulataneously. My mom will never admit to this, but “Material Girl” was playing on the radio when I made my first world-wide appearance.

“Start Spreading the News” New York, New York becomes a hit in New York.

Care Bears release their first movie.

Back to the Future is released. ‘Nuff Said.

Oh, one can’t forget…A brain, and an athlete, and a basketcase, a princess and a criminal.

Prince and The Revolution. Who I might add inspired Tipper Gore to start something called Parental Adversary Labels. No this is not another attempt for the Gore’s to say they “created” something.

This one I can’t blame her. Catching my 12 year old singing “I met her in a hotel lobby, masturbating to a magazine.” I’d go batshit crazy too.

A star was born around 5 o’clock in the afternoon.
s5000925

A sidenote to this unknown fact: I stole that tiara from a five year old child and wore it on my birthday last year. It had a princess on it. It had to be done.

Okay, if that wasn’t enough to swing you to my way of thinking, here is another unknown fact about how great this year was. YouTube was born. Here’s the proof.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Confessions of a Romance Author: Writer Crazy Edition Bingo Is In Fact the First Ring of Hell

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marianne  |  March 30, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    You’ve made me feel ancient — I graduated high school in 1984.

    *sigh*

    Happy birthday anyway… lol…

    But, OMG, the YouTube video was hysterical! 😀

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  March 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Happy Birthday!!

    I remember 1985 well, sort of, high school was a complete blur for me.

  • 3. kristy  |  March 30, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    it was in fact one of the best years. Happy Birthday.

  • 4. Pam  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY YOU FABULOUS, AMAZING, WONDERFUL DIVA BABE YOU!!!!

    *and many more!*

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Yes, I stumbled upon that little gem. “It was a complete failure” still cracks me up.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I think high school was a complete blur for everyone.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Hi, Kristy.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    *Snuggles Pam* Thanks.

  • 9. SLC Slave Driver  |  March 30, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Happy Birthday, Mel. Way to go.

  • 10. Lyn  |  March 31, 2009 at 1:31 am

    Happy birthday, sweetie! You look so gorgeous in your tiara. Have a great time with the ice cream and all.

  • 11. Raine  |  March 31, 2009 at 4:13 am

    Happy Birthday, babe.
    May it be the best year evah. 🙂

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  March 31, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Thanks, everyone. I did.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

