Mentor Program: Learning to Write Again

March 18, 2009 at 9:35 am 4 comments

Old habits die hard is a saying for a reason.

 I’ve been hitting a wall with just the first 8 pages of my story trying to think BIG. Now, think of BIG while doing jazz hands and you will get how mythical this word has become in my mind. For so long I’ve written my contemporary romances a certain way. I’ve written my women’s fiction to get away from those imaginary constraints I’ve put on myself. And, even have written an YA to get away from the constraints I’ve put on myself with both genres.

The wall I’m now hitting is learing to write with a different frame of mind when it comes to CR. Big. Jazz hands, BIG. I’m finally getting the room to go in depth with my characters and I have no idea how to do it. I’ve gotten good with getting in and getting out with my point that staying around for a few thousand words longer is killing me. I’m constantly thinking, but I’ve just made my point in 100 words or less. Writing series romance is definitely a gift I know I have.

But, the question comes down to can I write Single Title. Can I write, BIG, Jazz hands, BIG, and still keep my reader interested.

GAH!!!! We’ll see. For those who write Single Title leave some tips. For those who write Series i.e. short romances with a lot of punch, tell me do you want to spread your wings. Or, if you are a reader tell me what do you think of both. Why do you read either and do you find known series authors Single Title romances lacking?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m Rescheduling My Birthday Collage: Sin, Lynne, Sin

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  March 18, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    The best advice as a writer, that I can give, is PUT IT ON PAPER. Don’t worry about how long the story is, just get the damn thing on paper. If it’s too short (like my manuscript is currently) go back and add in for draft 2, or 3, or whatever.

    Why do I read what I read? I’ve never given it much thought. I read some category (most Blaze) because I like the quick fix. They are evening reads for me and sometimes, I just want to enjoy a quick story. Now, that being said, I’m not a fan of short stories because they are just too short.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  March 19, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    I’ve had more time to think and length isn’t the issue. It’s depth. I don’t have a hold on that one yet.

    And, trust me I would love to just get the damn thing on the paper. I’m sick of this story already, but I know this is what I need right now. I’m trying to get every facet of my character on the page from the start. I’m trying to change what I revise–not character issues, but plot and of course commas.

    Now, that being said, I’m not a fan of short stories because they are just too short.

    hehe. Sounds like a catch-22. I feel the same way. Give me that big sweeping novel where I can put myself into that world for a while, not just a few hours. I love that suspension of belief.

  • 3. coffeegirl88  |  March 19, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    As long as you know what your story needs, but if you find yourself fighting it too much, maybe you need to go back to a NaNo model and just vomit words on the page.

    Of course adding depth is exactly what I should be doing instead of reading/replying to blogs and getting lost in other people’s words/music. Avoidance is my game today apparently.

    Oh and you hit the nail directly about short stories, I too prefer the long sweeping story that you can get lost in for hours (days). I always feel a little cheated after reading a short story.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  March 19, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Um, avoidance? I’ve never heard of that word. Must go check my twitter again…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

