Mentor Program: Never Ever Compare Yourself. Never Bodes Well.

March 3, 2009 at 2:02 pm 8 comments

What did I get from yesterday’s lesson?

Susan Elizabeth Phillips is brilliant. I knew that already, because I love her stories. I’m very critical when I read, but with her and a handful of other authors I can turn off my internal editor.

The death knell for me is that I don’t pack a lot of punch in those first few pages, STILL. Eight books under my belt and I’m STILL missing a few basic things. Yes, it’s idiotic to compare myself to someone who has written 15+ books, especially when I’ve only gone through edits twice. There is something about a good editor that just makes your writer better with each book.

Now to not beat myself up, I can write a damn good first line. My current goal is to write damn good first chapter.

How?

Hell if I know, but I’m back to reading just the first five pages of NBC online. That woman is a Goddess.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mentor Program: My First Assignment It’s Finally Real

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  March 3, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Have you ever heard how the goddess edits/writes? Line one, then fix line one. Line two, then fix line one and line two. Line three. Fix Line one, line two and line three. And so on.

    Yeesh! No wonder she’s so great, but I could not do that.

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  March 3, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Line by line editing. Huh. Well that’s got my brain churning (yup, that is smoke you’re smelling).

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  March 4, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Pam, you’re right. Writing like that would drive me insane. Now I just have to find a way to write like that…

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  March 4, 2009 at 1:34 am

    *throws water on cynthia* You’ll be okay. In the Sisterhood of Bestsellers or something like that SEP explained her process. It’s amazing, but not feasible for everyone.

  • 5. coffeegirl88  |  March 4, 2009 at 3:31 am

    Thanks for the cool down – I think it was the fever talking.

    What is this Sisterhood of Bestsellers you talk about?

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  March 4, 2009 at 7:00 am

    It’s a talk Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Jayne Ann Krantz do almost every year at National’s. I love it. It’s informative, entertaining and you get sit in the same freaking room with SEP and JAK.

  • 7. Bettye Griffin  |  March 8, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I agree that SEP is a talented author, but so are you, Mel Let your talent shine, and polish it up nice.!

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  March 8, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Hey, Bettye. Glad to see you dropped by. And, trust me I’m working on it. It never ceases to amaze me how much the next book is harder to write.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

