Mentor Program: My First Assignment

March 2, 2009 at 5:53 pm 8 comments

My overall goal is to learn how to write single title romances. I’m stuck in the category romance cycle. Nothing wrong with them, but I want to write Bigger stories. I’m supposed to read the first few pages of Natural Born Charmer by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. As fate will have it, I can’t find my darn copy.

So, the great thing about technology is that I found an online version.

The purpose of the assignment is to see how internal dialogue, dialogue, description the whole nine is used to paint a picture of the characters and the intial journey of the story. Given MY first chapter is seven pages…well, it’s lacking in everything but dialogue and even in this circumstance I could use more. I’m also sure the phrase “deep POV” is going to come up.

But, we’ll see. ‘Cause I’m taking ya’ll on the journey with me. Sit tight.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Where do Writers’ Get Book Ideas From Mentor Program: Never Ever Compare Yourself. Never Bodes Well.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  March 2, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Yeah, reading SEP is a great way to get that education. (BTW–don’t forget the Cherry deconstruction of Match Me If You Can on the forums. That helped me so much!)

    Loving being on the journey with you! 🙂

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  March 2, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Ditto what Pam said, I’m enjoying the journey and looking forward to more.

  • 3. Raine  |  March 3, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Can we bring popcorn?

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I completely forgot about that. Since I couldn’t find NBC I was thinking of re-reading Match Me If You Can. I loved that book.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    I’m hoping it’ll be entertaining if not educational.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  March 3, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Yes, you may, Raine.

  • 7. Jen  |  March 3, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Ahhhhhhhhhh don’t say it! Don’t say it!! Deep POV is ALL I hear these days. LOL.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  March 8, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Yes, that was a direct shout out to you, Jen.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

