Where do Writers’ Get Book Ideas From

February 26, 2009 at 8:37 am 4 comments

Literally from the ether. Other writers might tell you different, but the truth is writers are usually staring off into space and then WHAM. Story idea. My mind strayed to ex boyfriends, break ups and this is what I got…

 

From a young age we’ve learned to lie to keep the status quo. So, sitting across from my ex-boyfriend, I formed the lie, one of many I’ve told since my birth, “I wish you the best.”

When I really meant, I hope you burn in the hottest fires of hell.

I soooo want to write this character. I want to know they are even talking to their ex boyfriend. I want to be on that journey.

So, long story short, that’s how writers get ideas for books. Out of the ether.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Speaking of Being Wonderful… Mentor Program: My First Assignment

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  February 27, 2009 at 2:30 am

    Melissa, that’s a book I want to read. 🙂

  • 2. Pam  |  February 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Ditto on the book. And I heard Lani always answers, “K-Mart.” *snork*

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  March 2, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Thanks, Edie. It’s definitely a story I would want to write. Characters talk to me all the time, but some just make me itch to explore their world.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  March 2, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Well, Lani might be onto something. I know Wal-Mart always puts me in a mood for a romantic suspense. Murder in Aisle Five.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

