I Did Say the Year of the Writer

February 22, 2009 at 8:08 pm 7 comments

So, one of my goals this year was to work on my craft and not worry too much about submitting; in all, the business side of publishing. I signed up to enter the Mentor Program on the Romance Divas. It’s pretty much a writing book camp. It’s a three month program where you and your mentor work on your weaknesses in writing. Put together more detailed goals. If nothing else, the one thing I love the most it’s about where I want my career to go and how I can get there with the help of my mentor. That’s her job, to get my writing to match up with my goals or close enough.

I think I’m in love. It’s rare for a writer to stumble upon this opportunity. It takes hard work, excellent critique partners, detailed rejections, Beta Readers–a village and years to get this.

I’m so freaking excited.

So, the question is how did you take your writing to the next level? Or how do you plan to take it to the next level?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Another Milestone In My Career….Urk Caveat: No, Really, I’m Not Wonderful At All

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  February 22, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    My plan? To take my writing more serious and to get some beta readers (which I’ve done). It’s hard writing in a vaccum and that’s pretty much what I’ve been doing for the last . . . okay more years than I want to admit it. The rest for me is just to continue to write. I figure the more you do something the better at it you get.

  • 2. Edie  |  February 23, 2009 at 12:25 am

    I think that’s great! I’ve decided to go through all the exercises at the end of each chapter of Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook by Donald Maass. I know that will add depth to my writing. I’m eager to start.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  February 23, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    It’s insane to work in a vacuum, but I know I’ve worked in one too long myself.

    Also, I agree the more you write the better you get at it. Though it may take years and years doing just that could make you better. But I know I don’t have that much patience.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  February 23, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    The exercises do work. And not just specifically for that book. I wish I could remember the name of it, but when I first started writing I read a book that had little exercises in them. I had to create characters on the spot. Describe rooms. Write with only dialogue as my foundation. Even as a newbie that book really helped me see what I needed to do to put a story together.

    Also, I’ve worked with the Maas book. It is fan-tab. You’re writing will get better.

  • 5. Pam  |  February 24, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    I think I’ve finally learned to really listen to that little voice inside. (I’m not sure if it’s the Girls, a Girl, or a Cute Cousin.) If it was somebody who I knew was Awesome, I’d take their advice lock, stock and barrel and use it, even if I had some uncomfortable moments with a few parts of it. Now, I’ve learned to take what works for me, and even if it’s this person’s mantra, to not use it if it doesn’t work. I’ve found me, and she’s freaking fabulous.

    Good luck with your mentor program–it sounds really exciting! Woot!

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  February 25, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Pam, that is wonderful. There is nothing better than realizing the real you and embracing her.

  • 7. Amie Stuart  |  February 26, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    In the early days, I said fuck it, I’m gonna write what I want. Now? I’m not sure. I KNOW I DO, I just don’t know how. I think, for me, now, it’s about writing a breakout book and about tackling projects I might not think I have the chops for.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

