I’m a Story Addict

February 16, 2009 at 8:33 am 8 comments

UPDATE: This was waiting for me in my e-mail.

best-book-of-the-week-lasr

I would love to thank everyone who voted for me. I appreciate and now you can find me at the top of that page as The Best Book of The Week. “!!!!!!”

I’ve always known this about myself, but I never knew the extent of my addiction. I knew it explained why I loved history. It explains my love for books. But it dawned on me it’s also why I sit down and watch TLC, PBS, History Channel, Court TV and recently why I’m obsessed with The Moth. It’s oral storytelling of true stories. And, This American Life much longer and much more real and fascinating.

For me stories are secrets disguised as words. You get inner thoughts, emotions, and most importantly the outcome is wrapped nicely in a bow. You’re getting a glimpse into someone else’s live. It’s also why I could never be a reporter. I’d want to know more than whatever story I’m working on. I’d want to know every little tidbit about who made that person who they are.

The great thing is I’m not alone in my addiction.

So, give me some recommendations. What podcast are really good? An online serial story? Forums, communities. Give me the goods on what feeds your story addiction.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Free is the Best Word In the English Language Dear Morning,

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Raine  |  February 16, 2009 at 9:44 am

    I used to get my fix on the A&E show “Biography”. History with its dates, wars, and impersonal nature never did it for me. But learning about the PEOPLE–yes! All the hopes, fears, passions, progress was captivating, about people from past and present.

    Unfortuately, A&E generally sucks now. But I did save a bunch of the programs.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  February 16, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Yes, history is boring without the personal stories. As for getting your fix now…PBS, yes I know at times it can be drudgery, but they have great shows. This morning, while I couldn’t sleep, they had one on Lincoln. It was absolutely great.

  • 3. Pam  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Woo Hoo!!! I swung by and voted, but was in such a rush, didn’t swing by you to tell you I did (which now I am.) Except, I think they got a typo on your award–it should say best book of the YEAR!!! Mwah!

    Yeah, Biography rocks, as does PBS. But you know the girls–they strike when they strike. It all depends on what gets their fancy.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Smooches, Pam for the typo. I’ll see what I can do…

    And, the girls live on all stories. Or even tidbits of conversations that can tell stories of their own. It’s lovely.

  • 5. Edie  |  February 17, 2009 at 7:10 am

    Congratulations! That’s awesome!

    I don’t know what feeds my addiction. Anything can trigger it. I get ideas from TV, but my best ideas come when I’m walking the dog or I’m in my shower.

  • 6. Betty  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I’m like you…and my husband is more so. He LOVES The History Channel, PBS, VS, Readers Digest… Real life stories. and especially the history.

    My mind pops to hear stories… Congrats on your award.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  February 18, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Edie, I think the bottom line here is that we have a wide addiction. Anything can feed it, but specifically a good story does. No matter what form it comes in.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  February 18, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Betty, thank you.

    And, your husband does sound like me. I get all geeky. It’s sad really.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

