I Have to Admit, I’m a Plotter

February 11, 2009 at 6:41 pm 10 comments

I lasted 15 pages before I gave. I know. I prided myself on being a panster for the first four years of my writing career. But things changed. Actually, the YA changed me. I was convinced that any book written on no sleep, too much coffee and pure insanity of a deadline would be utter crap.That book is so well constructed it’s scary. It makes sense. I can see the stakes being raised at then end of every chapter. Each scene has a purpose that feeds into the whole entire story and the characters growth.

And, I couldn’t have done it, not in that time span, without plotting. Plotting also makes me write faster ’cause I know where I’m going, instead of writing in circles until I find the reason for a story.

*Le sigh* Another one bites the dust, but I couldn’t have been happier. I have 4 scenes to write and I’m sure I’ll have more to write before those are done.

BTW, SEE MEGAN RUN has finally gotten a review. I’ve secretly angst that my story sucked rotten eggs and no one wanted to be the one to tell me. It’s gotten 4 books. YAY. Here’s what the reviewer had to say…

This is a truly touching story about forgiveness and letting go; Ms. Blue has created a wonderful tale of love everlasting.

This has made my day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Wrote a Short-ish Story Useless Information About Melissa Blue

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  February 11, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Great review, Melissa! I know how relieved you must feel. I’m the same way before every round of the ATV contest.

  • 2. Slave Driver  |  February 11, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Fabulous! I knew you would get a good review. After all, *I* liked it!

    🙂

  • 3. kristy  |  February 11, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    sweet deal on the review. you rock girly.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Edie, it was like a huge sigh of relief. Now the next review, if I get another one, might rip me a new, but right now I’m loving it.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Slave, you have increible taste.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I know!!! See ya tonight.

  • 7. Raine  |  February 12, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Congrats on the review, you!
    And go with that plotting if that’s what works. 🙂

  • 8. Pam  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Of course it’s a fabulous review–it’s for a book Melissa wrote. Duh!

    And be true to yourself and the process, so if you go over to the dark side, that’s okay. I pantsted the hell out of my current WIP, and now that I need to edit it, I’m rocking my spreadsheet like Sam! And I’m not even a Gemini! *snork*

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Raine, it’s the whole “I’m changing” thing that really bothers me. Not complaining about getting the words on the page. I’m no longer that newbie and I’m scared about who I am now as a writer. And, what does that mean for my career? What other decisions am I not making that I should be?

    Yeah, deep thoughts.

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Pam, have I ever told you how much I love you? Well, I do.

    Yes, us Aries can be just about any sign on any given day. Also, congrats on finishing the WIP. You’ve been rocking.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

