I Wrote a Short-ish Story

February 9, 2009 at 6:45 am 6 comments

Getting dumped on Valentine’s Day is a sentence worse than death…

That pretty much sums up why I hate the freaking holiday. Slave called it “Single Awareness Day” and I almost wet my pants from laughing. Because truly it is. You don’t realize how single you are until that day comes around and Walmart is filled wiht men trying to buy last minute cards, flowers, chocolates, and bears.

The day is ten times worse when you actually get dumped ON THE DAY OF. What kind of butthead dumps you on Valentine’s Day? Well, I was and forever this day has a sour taste in my mouth. Being a writer I have the power to make this day better. So, last year when the Romance Diva E-Book Challenge went out I was up for it. This year I signed up again. It’s only right I give my character a HEA on this day. It also helps I get to do whatever for this free read, without constraints. But the truly fun thing is writing an HEA in such a short word frame. This year I ended up with 3k. Or thereabouts. I had the meet, I had the black moment and I had a resolution. It’s like finishing a real book.

What’s the point of this post?

Letting you know you can find it at Romance Diva’s E-Book Challenge Page
*along with other Free Reads* or on my site. Won’t cost you a thing, but thirty minutes out your day to read. And, really if you like it, you can *buy* read my contemporary romances.

The high, high point. I’m in the mood to write my butt off. Lynne’s story will be done in no time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Confessions of A Romance Author I Have to Admit, I’m a Plotter

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  February 9, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Hey, it’s “Single’s Awareness Day, the apostrophy being uber important to stress that it is posessive. As Dr. Phil says, “You have to name it to claim it.”

    I work on Valentines Day. It is always an eye opener.

  • 2. SLC Slave Driver  |  February 10, 2009 at 3:00 am

    And thanks for the snaps!!!

  • 3. Edie  |  February 10, 2009 at 3:18 am

    Someone getting dumped on Valentine’s Day would make a great story. Especially if he later winds up murdered. lol

    I hope you put him in a book and had some nasty stuff happen to him. I’ll come back and read your story sometime this week. I’m waaay behind right now.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  February 10, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Do tell.

    Also, you’re welcome. You deserved one to have witnessed my writing before editing. Can’t even call the short edited, but it isn’t rough like five o’clock shadow.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  February 10, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Edie, dear, I can’t understand how you can function with all that you are juggling. You’re my hero.

  • 6. Pam  |  February 10, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Write, baby, write! I can’t wait for Lynne’s story!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

