Confessions of A Romance Author

February 6, 2009 at 5:00 pm 6 comments

confessional1

You may be avoiding your wip if…

1. You make a deal with yourself that if you can win Spider Soltaire–four suits–three times in a row, you’ll finally write a few words.

2. You try to convince your doctor you have carpel tunnel and can’t type. *He didn’t give it to me, damn him.*

3. You know, I always wanted to put my personal library in alphabetical order.

4. Your house is actually clean, but of course when you finish you realize the baseboards need another run through.

5. Maybe your daughter’s personal library needs to be put in alphabetical order.

6. You google Belly Button Lint.

7. You take your books out of alphabetical order and put them by copyright date. If it’s the same copyright date then order then by author. This takes time. Lots of time.

8. You consider calling everyone in the yelllow pages just to tell them “Have a great day.” No, you don’t know them, but it’s called WIP avoidance for a reason.

9. Finally, you concede to writing at least one page. Who knows you might end up with two.

But first, you need to google “How to make bread from Scratch.”

Have a great weekend, ya’ll.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Never Get Political On My Blog, BUT I love Obama I Wrote a Short-ish Story

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  February 6, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Add spending hours sending virtual plants, fish, hugs, drinks, and writing tools to all your friends on Facebook and you’ve got where I’ve been the last week or so. Well, minus the carpal tunnel since I was taught in middle school how to type properly, so that will never be an issue with me.

  • 2. Griffin  |  February 7, 2009 at 3:12 am

    Oh no. I’ve never done any of those things *whistles innocently*

  • 3. Edie  |  February 7, 2009 at 5:59 am

    I found Hangman on the Free Dictionary and saved it on my home page. I tell myself Hangman is brain exercises, not procastination.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  February 7, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Cynthia so was I, but there is always a hope that I could hold onto to the excuse “but I can’t type, physically.”

    A stretch, but one I had to attempt to grab.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  February 7, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Griffin, I promise to not question your innocent whistle.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  February 7, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Oh, God. Don’t tell me that. I’m addicted to Bubble Shooter which is bad enough….

    Um, what’s the site again? 😉

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

