Why I Love The Name Phoenix

February 2, 2009 at 6:31 pm 8 comments

The moment I knew what a phoenix was I wanted to write a story surrounding this name. This is even pre-writing.

Now for those who don’t know…I’m sure all of you are educated, but who knows a five-year old might be reading my blog…A phoenix is a mythical bird who is reborn in it’s ashes. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets has one.

Now for the true point of this post–Tradegy is one of the greatest test of characters. I don’t wish tradegy on anyone, but it’s amazing to see human kind shine when it happens. It’s the same reason why I just don’t watch t.v. on September 11th. I whether remember how patriotic everyone became. How compassionate we all became. Most people don’t take tradegy in stride for a while, but I’m just saying when they do…

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVKCrbupaKM&eurl=http://www.popeater.com/music/article/jennifer-hudson-superbowl-anthem/325110&feature=player_embedded

Jennifer Hudson’s mother, brother, and 7 year old nephew were murdered in October. She’s always had a wonderful voice, but WOW. This was her first performance since that tradegy. I got tingles watching her sing. All I have to say is watch for her, she’s going to set the world on fire.

Any time in your life did you become a phoenix?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

10 Books You Should Read Before You Die Emotional Conflict-Ya Gotta Have It

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  February 2, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    She was amazing. So much courage. I don’t know how she could get through that song with the poise and grace she exhibited.

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  February 2, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Jennifer Hudson’s performance was perfect.

    And about being a phoenix, I’ve metaphorically risen from the ashes a couple times.

  • 3. Betty Strasser  |  February 3, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    The performance was beautiful.
    Can’t say I would recognize anything so dramatic in my own life… Though, writing is a rebirth everytime you open your manuscript. 🙂 For me, anyway. Have a great week.

  • 4. Edie  |  February 3, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I saw a clip of Jennifer Hudson singing on the morning show yesterday. She was awesome.

    Every time I get a rejection letter, then put it aside and go back to writing, I’m a phoenix.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Hey, Slave and I know what you mean. Even though her “break” was due to a tradegy and no one would hold it against her for never showing her head again…well, she couldn’t ask for a better performance. She will go down in my book as the best singer ever.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    I think all of us had to at one time or another. There is no way to make it through life unscathed, but some people’s scars are deeper.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    If that isn’t the best writing example. Like I always say, writing isn’t for wussies.

  • 8. Raine  |  February 5, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Yes. Several times, to varying degrees, have gone down in flames.
    Working on it right now…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

