10 Books You Should Read Before You Die

January 28, 2009 at 7:36 am 10 comments

I read one of these list recently and totally disagree with the selections. First, it had Gone With The Wind. I couldn’t stand to watch the movie. There is no way you could pay me to read that Saga of a novel. I’ll admit my problem is that I want the writer to get to the point. Same reason why I couldn’t get into Pride and Prejudice. It’s probably a fabulous book, but I couldn’t get past, “What in the hell are they talking about? Receiving a letter? Seriously!?!”

Yes, I know, but I digress. I read those list as “Books I Should Avoid Until the Day I Die”

Now, I bet you’re wondering if I’m a nutty butter or what do I consider timeless novels. The voices in my head tell me I’m not crazy–JUST KIDDING. But I will make you a list. You can argue at will. *Kristy there is no way I’ll read Gone With The Wind, no matter how good you say it is.*

My List of Book You Should Read Before You Die:

1. Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

Seriously, if you read the first chapter and still don’t like it I’ll buy you a nutty butter bar.

2. Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie

‘Nuff said.

3. The Mulberry Tree by Jude Deveraux

4. The Summerhouse by Jude Deveraux

Now what’s special about these two books is that they break a lot of craft rules, but for these books they work. And I think that’s really the point. Use every tool in your arsenal to make a damn good book. It’s about how well you can weave a story. Also, of course getting the way you weave a story to an audience that will adore you.

5.The Woods by Harlan Coben

Now I’m just throwing this title out there because I love every book this man has written. So, Harlan if you are reading this I will marry you just because you give good book. *Hmm, that has a ring to it “Giving Good Book One Story At A Time… Copywritten by the year of the Nutty Butter”

6. Carnal Innocence by Nora Roberts

Now I have to say this book is better when it’s read on tape/cd. My mother and I listened to it. And, because I loved it I bought the actual book. Still loved it, but oh, my heart be still Tucker Longstreet.

7. Fine Things by Danielle Steel

Yes, I said it loud and proud. I love a book by Danielle Steel. It’s one of those books you read once and can’t bring yourself to read it again ’cause you cried buckets the last time.

8. The Other Woman by Eric Jerome Dickey

Another one of those books you read once. LOVED IT!!

9. The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Alex Haley

I still remember the paper in high school I wrote in my U.S. History class. *Hi, Mr. Valezuela* I had read this book before and loved it. I don’t do non-fiction. I’ve read hundreds of books, but I can count on my hand the autobiographies I’ve read. I considered myself done after reading this. I walked into this book thinking Malcolm X a racist. I finished it wanting to meet him if he had still been alive. I’m biased because I got an A on the paper I had to write. Still remember the theme I used–it’s never too late in life to change who you are for the better. That’s still the lesson I live with today.

10. How Much You Want to Bet? by Melissa Blue

Snork. I did say I wanted to bronze this book and be buried with it. Okay, okay, seriously.

10. Little Ray of Sunshine by Lani Diane Rich

There are moments when you are hit right between the eyes with a good book. I expected a well told story. I’d read Rich before, but she got me and she got me good in those last pages. I had to close the book and hold it to my chest. I have never read a better crafted love story. Also, this book made me realize how you can bookend scenes to have a huge impact on a readers emotion. Truly a book isn’t done until it’s in a readers hands.

What books would go on your list? Don’t limit yourself. I’m about to pay off my library fee and could use a good read.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

If I were to Ever Forsake Writing and Live a Life of Crime Why I Love The Name Phoenix

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jenifer  |  January 28, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Fun list. And although I won’t try to convince you to read GWTW, I will say that I really enjoyed the book, and I hated the movie, classic though it may be.

    I’ve had Can You Keep A Secret on my TBR (actually TB listened) list forever, so I’m going to have to bump that up higher.

    I’d add to your list:

    Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver (her others may be wonderful too, but this is her only work of fiction that I’ve read so far). Listen to it if you can – she reads it, and her voice is wonderful. Every single thing about this book just grabbed me and wouldn’t let go.

    Hot Shot by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. Great love story with great character, and it breaks some genre “rules” and still works so well.

    The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie. I haven’t read a lot of Christie, but this one was fantastic.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  January 28, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Yes, definitely make Can You Keep a Secret a TBR ASAP.

    I love SEP. Her stories have so much you can sink your teeth into. You really feel like you’re there while reading it.

    I haven’t read that title by Agatha Christie. My mother bought some her books made into movies and we got hooked. We tried to books on tape/cd. Within the first five minutes we decided that it sounded like the reader had marbles in her mouth. We passed.

  • 3. Lyn  |  January 28, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Mel, I came here in a bad mood, but you got me. I just love you to bits.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  January 29, 2009 at 12:35 am

    Big smooches. Glad to have made you day marginally better.

  • 5. edie17  |  January 29, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I like too many books to list just ten. I thought Bet Me by Jenny Crusie was great, but I’d go her book Welcome to Temptation.

    I thought I read all of Lani Diane Rich’s books, but I couldn’t remember Little Ray of Sunshine. I just went to her website and read the excerpt. I’ll have to buy it.

  • 6. kristy  |  January 29, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Yeah GWTW is great…I know you will never read it. I liked To kill a Mockingbird (had to read for school and loved it). Also I love A Time to Kill. I think I just like titles with kill in it…lol. Just one of my issues. Love ya girly

  • 7. Marianne  |  January 29, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Actually, my fave Jenny Crusie was “Getting Rid of Bradley” … but, really, is there a BAD Jenny Crusie book?

    I’m with you on the usual lists. Blech. Blech. Blech. Did like “To Kill A Mockingbird”, but for the most part … ick.

    Oddly, I don’t see anything by Marianne Arkins on there. Clearly an oversight. 😀

  • 8. Pam  |  January 30, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Absolutely on Bet Me, but for SEP I’d have to go with Kiss an Angel. That woman can do a flawed heroine like nobody’s business!

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  February 1, 2009 at 7:33 am

    You know, Marianne, her older novels are almost the best. Manhunting is just wonderful. It’s her first published novel and it has all the earmarks of a great Crusie.

    And, totally forget to mention Marianne Akins…

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  February 1, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Make Me a Match is one is soooo good. I’m biased because that’s the first SEP I’ve read. But really she can do character with her eyes closed. Have you gone to the Sisterhood of Bestsellers. Her personality is just as wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

