By Now You Should Have The Very Sad News

January 19, 2009 at 8:36 pm 8 comments

I lost YA Magic in the crash. Yeah, the book I slaved over during NaNo. Yup, I’m pissed and sad. Yup, I’m thinking about buying a very large bottle of wine to drown my sorrows in. But that’s not what I want to talk about today. Lets talk about when is a book worth re-writing.

As some of you recall I dreamt this book right before NaNo. The idea wouldn’t leave me alone, and I was bombarded with details. I had to write this story for the reason the idea was beyond cool. Now what I didn’t expect was how much I learned from writing this book. A fantasy, a YA fantasy, no less was way out of my comfort zone.  At least to myself I’ve wanted to stretch my writing wings.  I also wanted to know if I could write 50k in a month.

I now know this, but is the story worth re-writing? *Let me make a list*

1. I already have an idea and plot for a second book in this series.

2. I have A LOT of notes while I was writing this book. The notes include the rules of the world, actual scenes, turning points, and a cast list.

3. I believe I know these characters enough to flesh them out.

4. I was going to re-write a lot anyway during the revision process, anyway.

5. I’m stubborn and the thought of just letting this book go because of computer issues feels like giving up.

5. I love this book and it still won’t let me go.

This last reason is enough for me to pull up my big girl panties and write this story again. I’ve only re-written one other book before, and that was my first book. The set of facts were completely different, but the bottom line is that I loved that book, I believed in that book enough to re-write it.

Funny I don’t think non-writers could understand how much goes into writing a book. It’s much more than putting words on the page.  Cian and Jalani are real to me. Right now it just feels like I pushed pause on the story that they want to tell. They deserve to have their story.  But first, Lynne’s story. She’s been waiting long enough.

Oh, and this is all I have left of the story *sob, I tried to be brave, but….*: 

“Are you levitating me or am I doing it?”

“You’re doing it, I’m just giving you the extra boost.” She started to ease off the boost, but he stayed leveled. She smiled down at him. “So, Superboy, how does it feel?”

He placed his hands behind his head and smirked. “Not bad. This is pretty cool.”

She eased off all her powers and he dropped an inch and then fell to the pillows when the spurt of fear took over what he had been doing naturally. She sighed. “Well, I wouldn’t buy a cape just yet.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Computer Flipped Me the Birdie The One Thing I Missed While Writing a Young Adult

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kristy  |  January 19, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    dang…that sucks that you lost the story. I know you will write it again and it will be better than the first time. You are awesome and are my inspiration. Love you. Oh and when I grow up I wanna be just like you.

  • 2. Edie  |  January 19, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Mel, that’s awful. But good for you for rewriting it. I can send you a My Dropbox invte if you want one. I open a file on My Dropbox and it saves it on the internet Dropbox, which only I can see (unless I share it with someone else), and it’s in my Word file.

    Email me if you want an invite.

  • 3. Lyn  |  January 20, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Hey, Mel–

    Writing teacher and novelist Andre Jute gives this process for writing a novel:

    1. Write the book.
    2. Put it in a drawer.
    3. Write the book without looking at the first version.

    How smart are you? You did away with the drawer and put the book into Lost in Cyberspace. Well, lost in magnetic domains or some such.

    However, for the future, you might want to look into jump/thumb/flash drives, online storage (I use the Macintosh Cloud), or just burning two CD’s: one to keep in your house and one to keep at somebody else’s house in case yours burns down.

    BTW: Love the excerpt.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  January 22, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Kristy, you never realize how awesome you already are. You are the best friend anyone would be lucky to have. Anyone who doesn’t see how amazing you are is just a dumb ass who doesn’t deserve to be around you in the first place.

    Just saying.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  January 22, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Edie, send away.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  January 22, 2009 at 7:48 am

    How smart are you? You did away with the drawer and put the book into Lost in Cyberspace.

    This made me smile even while I was feeling like crap.

    Now the good news is one of my writing associates directed me to a recovery doc. site. I used it on my USB that I’d had it on before. YA Magic showed up. I’ve recovered it and don’t have to re-write it. Score for the hometeam. But I’ve learned my lesson. Trust me.

  • 7. Bettye Griffin  |  January 24, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Ooh, that hurts. I second the suggestions the others have made regarding backups. I’ll actually save my WIP on my backup before I save it on my hard drive (which I do maybe once or twice a week).

    I say use your notes to do it again, and it’ll be even better!

  • 8. Bettye Griffin  |  January 24, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Oh sh*t, now I’m seeing your good news. That’s wonderful that you recovered your work and had a happy ending of your own! But let this be a lesson . . . (shaking finger)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

