My Computer Flipped Me the Birdie

January 18, 2009 at 5:40 am 8 comments

Hence my prologued silence. First it started with my internet acting wonky. Then I had to restart my computer every time I wanted a connection. That lasted for 20 minutes of pure Internet bliss.

And, that’s when it happened, my computer wouldn’t start up like it used to. I did what would give any computer geek an attack–I repeatedly hit the power button. It finally dawned on me I should save all my important docs, if not my programs and restore my WHOLE FREAKING SYSTEM. After 14 hours…

Now I’m pretty much crossing my fingers it worked. So if you don’t hear from me…my computer, once again, has flipped me the birdie.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

An 11 Day Break and I’m Already a Wimp By Now You Should Have The Very Sad News

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  January 18, 2009 at 5:48 am

    Yikes! Sorry about that hon. Hope it’s learned it’s lesson and behaves.

  • 2. Edie  |  January 18, 2009 at 6:20 am

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you. I hate when anything goes wrong with my computer. It’s one of the scariest things.

  • 3. SLC Slave Driver  |  January 18, 2009 at 9:28 am

    have you tried to threaten it with and ice pick and a lemonade poured over they keyboard?

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  January 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    After all I’ve gone through to restore that sucker it better appreciate it.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  January 18, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Edie, I have to admit my computer had every right to flip me the birdie. I opened it up and found 12 years worth of dust on every component. The filter for the fan had an 1/2 layer of dust. The damn thing couldn’t breathe. Imagine four years worth of Melissa gunk saved on it, updates, corrupted files. Yeah, I’m suprised it didn’t crap out on me a year ago. Then again, I still had the warranty, Dell wouldn’t have me crash until it was up.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  January 18, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    have you tried to threaten it with and ice pick and a lemonade poured over they keyboard?

    I was drinking coffee when I read this. You have to warn me when you say things like that. Snerk.

  • 7. Kate Diamond  |  January 18, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    My computer was slowly circling the drain. The Husband made me buy a new one (I love having a tech savvy mate!)

    Now I’m in the slow process of moving everything over to the new computer. All the documents are reorganized and saved (and backed up! Finally!)

    Now I just need to get the pictures and music files transferred over. It’s on the to-do list for my day off tomorrow!

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  January 19, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Now I just need to get the pictures and music files transferred over. It’s on the to-do list for my day off tomorrow!

    Don’t drag your feet. Trust me I know. As for pictures, that was the biggest files I had to save. But totally worth it. I had pictures of my sons birth and other birth days. You can’t get that type of stuff back, sooo, transfer.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

