Tapping Into That Honest Part of Me, part II

January 9, 2009 at 10:22 pm 5 comments

“You don’t know where you are going, until you know where you’ve been.”

Not sure who said it, but it’s one of the things I believe. I love history. I watch the History channel. I read the captions in text books. I’m hungry for all the hard lessons learned. Plus, I just love a story in any form you give it to me. So, it’s no surprise that I’m obsessed with my own family’s history.

*Back story* My mother was four months pregnant when my grandmother died of a heart attack. When my mother and father went to pack up her apartment there were stacks of books every where. I didn’t know this fact until my mother stepped into my room one day. Of course, I just began my love affair with books. I was getting ready for bed and I had just got some books from the library. And, if you are book lover you know those “new” books must be tried on for size. All of them. In my bed. My mother paused and muttered something along the lines of, “Ohh, you just like Willie Mae.”

Yes, that’s my grandmother’s name. Willie Mae. She grew up in Gibsland, Lousiana. A town famous for the Bonnie and Clyde final showdown. I never met her. I can’t recall if she ever touch my mother’s stomach while pregnant with me. I do know some days my mother can’t look at my handwriting without getting misty-eyed. I have an affinity to make a homage in every book to her ’cause I like to think I inherited this loving for reading trait from her, along with full cheekbones.

Outside of those fun fact I’m not sure what this has to do with tapping into the honest part of me. It was something on my mind, so I’m following a gut instinct in a few days, months it’ll make sense. Of course, my mind is still swirling with story details, little things that will make the story come to life. And, I’m thinking maybe the hero will have gone to Grambling University. Another homage.

Again, I won’t know. But here’s something for you to chew on: What things in your family history has shown up in your life at odd times?

Oh, and here is Willie Mae Lyons.grandmaandbud

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tapping In That Honest Part of Me Tapping Into the Honest Part of Me, Part Tres

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edie17  |  January 10, 2009 at 2:50 am

    What a great picture! Is that your grandfather with her?

    My mother and father only wanted two children, which they had. They lived in a lower duplex with my father’s mother in the upper duplex. My grandmother said it was getting quiet below — which meant she’d like another grandchild. So my parent’s got pregnant. With me! Four days before I was born, my grandmother died of stomach cancer. My mother loved her mil. I was born prematurely, and my mother said it was because of the sadness of her mil’s passing. I wish I’d known her.

  • […] Tapping Into That Honest Part of Me, part II « Brain Clutter […]

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  January 10, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Yup, that’s gramps. We called him Bud. Not sure why. I’m sure it’s a liquor reference though. Sadly, he was batshit crazy. In WWII he got shot in the head. The bullet stayed and they put in a metal plate. He’d go insane during the summer months. But the man could cook.

    My grandmother said it was getting quiet below — which meant she’d like another grandchild. So my parent’s got pregnant. With me!

    You’ve got a lot to thank Grams for. lol. I’m sure she would have loved you.

  • 4. Raine  |  January 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    You DO have her cheekbones! And a bit of her smile. 🙂

    This will probably be your best story yet, y’know.

  • 5. Amie Stuart  |  January 11, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    You totally look like her!!! And FYI My bio-grandmother’s name was Willie Lee. Other than the fact shew as gorgeous, I don’t know much about her and I have no pics

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

