Tapping In That Honest Part of Me

January 8, 2009 at 7:16 pm 1 comment

This has been an ongoing struggle for me. I can’t get to this place in my writing easily. It takes about 20,000 words before I can hit this sweet spot with my characters.  It’s the reason why my revisions are fleshing out the emotions. I do emotions. Like most people I’m scared to open that flood gate ’cause it may never close.

But the crazy thing is I believe that’s why I write. So I can have a safe place to open that flood gate. In my head I believe I have control over that flood gate in my writing place. When I write THE END I’m closing that flood gate. It’s also the reason why it takes me so long to write another story. I know I’m not only going to facing a blank page, but whatever emotion I need to deal with at the time. I know I’m going to be pulling off the scabs of old wounds and letting myself bleed again.

And the underlining fear is that when I’ve bleed all that there is to bleed what will I write then. Maybe that next story is my last and I would have dealt with all my demons. My friend said to me last night that writing is a very personal experience. That’s why rejections do take a toll. Bad reviews do get under the skin. I put a piece of true self out there and someone doesn’t like it. Ouch.

Yeah, I know, deep thoughts, but it’s where my head is at. I’m thinking about what emotions I’m going to have to pull out with Lynne.  I know from experience snark covers old wounds. I’m picking at a scab hers and therefore one of mine. So, I’m scared and excited to see what’s going to bleed.

Anyway, how do you get yourself into that honest place?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Make a Left At Snark Tapping Into That Honest Part of Me, part II

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  January 8, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I get there by just letting go and writing. Yeah, sounds easy doesn’t it? It’s not and I won’t pretend it is. My biggest obstacle is just putting pen to paper, if I can do that then it’s all down hill from there. Actually this is part of why I write to music. Music helps me shut everything else out and when I’m lucky it shuts out my internal editor/critic as well.

    One thing, there will always be things we exorcise when we write. New wounds replace the old and therefore refill the well. Sounds cheery doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

