Make a Left At Snark

January 7, 2009 at 6:37 am 7 comments

I’ve been thinking about what to write next. Nothing has excited me. The thought of going back and finishing Getting Over Mr. Wrong didn’t excite me. *I’d be starting in the freaking middle* Then I got hit with a horrible, fabulous idea…

I won’t write.

I started to twitch. So, maybe not so fabulous of an idea. By this point I’d given up. I’d write 300 words a day and be finished with a book by the time my daughter graduated.

Sidenote: There is something about desperation that gets the muse awake.

A light bulb hit me while I was talking about secondary characters. I thought of the only one who has ever made me see her story. Of course I ignored it. I don’t write my secondary character’s story.

Ever.

But then like all my story ideas that I never wanted to write it started to take hold. For those of you who read See Megan Run…yeah, you know the witty character with spiked hair that’s a different color. The one who never gets mushy. The one, truly, utterly, dare I say it–SNARKY– person in the cast of thousands. Yes, folks, that’s the one.

And, you know what I’m excited. I can see her now in love and hating every moment of it. Just like the characters I write. She’s perfect. No. Not perfect. Flawed beyond belief. With secrets she hasn’t told me yet, but she wants to.

Since I don’t write secondary characters I tried to push the thought aside. Tried to tamp down the excitement bubbling up to my fingertips. But like all my stories I sealed my fate.

lynne2

 

Say hi to Lynne. Yeah, look at her. I’m in heaps of trouble folks.

But before I get to her. I must hit my last item on my to-do list before school starts. Critique.

Oh, and like all stories I never want to write…I got this:

If the embodiment of sin came into the form of a man Nathan Craine was the damn poster child.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

My Hope, My Prayer, My Theory, My Prediction for 2009 Tapping In That Honest Part of Me

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  January 7, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Sounds like you’re about to have heaps of fun.

  • 2. edie17  |  January 7, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    I love getting an idea that makes me excited! Snarky characters are so much fun to write! My heroine in DEAD PEOPLE, my American Title V book, is snarky.

    I think the trick is to not be mean. That’s why Miss Snark was wildly popular. She said it in a way we all knew was true. And she was blogging to help writers. There wasn’t any meanness in her posts.

  • 3. Kaige  |  January 8, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Hey cool, WP thought an old post of mine was related to yours. Neat.

    Anyway, I have the opposite problem. All my secondary characters seem to clamor to have their story told.

    Lynne looks like a trip! Have fun.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  January 8, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Cynthia, I am. I’ve been waiting for a character like this since my first WF. So unapologetic about who she is. I love it.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  January 8, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Edie, I’m sooo hoping you win. It’s about time you get a freaking break in this business.

    Sidenote: Snarky characters are the bestest.

  • 6. pamwritesromance  |  January 8, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Ooh–Lynne looks FABULOUS! As one of our goddesses says, Swing Wide!!! 🙂

    You can totally rock this new story!

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  January 8, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Thanks, Pam. She looks so kick ass that I had to write her.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

