My Hope, My Prayer, My Theory, My Prediction for 2009

January 3, 2009 at 8:25 pm 4 comments

Soooo, I’m farting around on Myspace. And then I see an ad. An ad that made my heart skip a beat. They are making “Confessions of a Shopaholic” into a movie. Now if you never heard of this series please come from under your dark rock. Even if you don’t like this series I’m sure you’ve heard of it in passing. They are written by Sophie Kinsella. A writing Goddess. If only for her title “Can you Keep a Secret”. Now I’d bet money that if anyone reads the first chapter of that book they will also find her a writing Goddess.

I digress.

At first I thought, how nice they are making this book a movie. Then I saw the producer. My heart stopped once again.

Two words, which has equaled success for years in this business:

Jerry Bruckheimer.

Now you may not pay attention to producer names. I do for some odd reason and this name has popped up on all of my favorite movies. But if you don’t recognize this name maybe these movies and t.v. shows will get your mind working.

Pirates of the Caribbean

Remember the Titans

CSI

Without a Trace

Cold Case Files

Gone in Sixty Seconds

Enemy of the State

Armageddon

Dangerous Minds

Bad Boys

Top Gun

National Treasure

So, all this is to say my hope, my prayer, my theory and prediction is that this movie will do well. And, predictably the book market will reflect what’s playing in the movie theaters i.e. chick-lit, i.e. humorous women’s fiction will sell once again.

As I said it’s my hope, my prayer…

What do you think of the movie industry mimicking what’s published. Or Jerry Bruckheimer and him being a genuis. Or what are your hopes for 2009.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Confessions of a Romance Author: The New Year’s Eve Edition Make a Left At Snark

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edie17  |  January 4, 2009 at 2:26 am

    I think the movie business should buy more books. Like mine — as soon as I sell it! 😆

  • 2. SLC Slave Driver  |  January 4, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Recently the “experts” in the entertainment business were thrown for a loop when women went to see “Mamma Mia” in droves. Why did this surprise them? Because traditionally men are the driving force behind the movie decision making and they only wanna see shit go really fast and get blown up, so…

    I can’t understand this kind of thinking because in our house we either see something we both agree on or, if it’s a chic flick, I go with my kid.

    And no, I will NOT be seeing “Marley and Me” because in 99% of movies about dogs the dog dies and I am going to bawl my eyes out in a theater.

    I’ll do that at home when I rent it.

    So let’s hope that the “experts” realize that women are willing and able to open their own wallet and buy their own movie ticket. This should open up more women’s lit screenplays.
    And I have to wonder, who exactly did they think made “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” such a hit?
    Guys?

  • 3. pamwritesromance  |  January 8, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Amen, babe. Amen.

  • 4. دردشة  |  January 26, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    hanks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

