Confessions of a Romance Author: The New Year’s Eve Edition

January 1, 2009 at 12:09 am 12 comments

confessional1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m supposed to recap my year in this post, but if you ever read my confessions’ post you know I don’t follow procedure. So, today’s confessions will not be how much I kicked butt in writing. It’ll be gibberish. Grab your big girl panties…

1. Today was my last day at my job. A part of me was extremely sad and then I remembered all the reasons why I was leaving. I scheduled in gloating from 8:00-12:00. My co-workers hated me more than they did when I first put in my resignation. Mu-ah. I loved you guys too.

2. I picked up my kids and realized I’d be with them, by myself, no buffer, for three straight days. Only for a moment did I consider dropping them off at their fathers’ house, while screaming out my window “Happy New Year!”

3. Um, I’m on my second Mimosa. It’s quite delicious. I’m sure because of it I’ll be sleep in the next thirty minutes. Well, probably by the end of this post.

4. I’ve decided to shun all writing goals for 2009. I’ve proved to myself I can write A LOT in a short amount of time. Now I want to write with quality in mind. I want to break all the craft rules I’ve learned–outside of headhopping and telling vs. showing. I’m calling it the year of the writer.

5.  Okay, I probably won’t just write exclusively. I’m addicted to submitting, well seeing my name on a book I wrote. I know. *hangs head in shame with a shit-eating grin on my face.*

6. Um, Cyber-Mimosa, anyone?

7.  The only reason I’m looking forward to the new year is for tax season. It’s one of the reasons I thank my uterus for betraying me and dropping those eggs. *The other reasons, if you are wondering, are ’cause my children crack me up. My son has decided he will do a dance for every food substance. His most enthusiastic dances are for cookies and chips. Go figure.*

8. I’ve accepted the fact I only write five months out of the year. Usually between June and November. I wanted to be one of those writers who could get their butt in the chair all the time. I wanted to treat this like a job. 9-5 everyday.

Soooo, not going to happen. My game plan is to write as much as I can in these months and revise the rest of the year. Revising takes me much longer than writing the actual story. I accept this quirk about myself. Now I just need to find an agent and publisher who will buy this b.s. of an answer.

9. Okay, you really came here to see how well I did this year. Here’s the list:

Published and promoted: How Much You Want to Bet?

Edited for 8 very long months: See Megan Run

Published and promoted: See Megan Run

Wrote on an ms: In Time = 11k

Wrote on an ms: Getting Over Mr. Wrong = 22k

Wrote a short story: 2k

Revised and Revised and Revised and Revised: I Said Never = 76k

Wrote a novella: Everything You Need =30k

Wrote a novel that turned out to be novella length: 36k

Wrote a YA and now have no idea what to do with it: 50k

So, if you were counting that’s 150k for the year. Totally kicking my 300 words a day goal. I do know more about the industry. I tried my damndest to get an agent with only one real bite that turned into a rejection. I did not keep writing and publishing separate, but I think that’s going to be an ongoing struggle. To sum it up. I did damn good.

9. Seriously, Mimosas are delicious.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m Not Vain, But I Miss The Sound Of My Voice My Hope, My Prayer, My Theory, My Prediction for 2009

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  January 1, 2009 at 12:42 am

    I’ll take one of those mimosas, it will go with the sangria I had at dinner. Right?

    So, no writing 100K for NaNo 2009? Awww ;(

    You did good this year kid, keep up the good work!

  • 2. Tabitha v--v  |  January 1, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Did you quit your job to be a full time writer? I’m jealous.

  • 3. edie17  |  January 1, 2009 at 3:48 am

    You did awesome! You deserve those mimosas.

  • 4. Bettye Griffin  |  January 1, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    If I had any champagne in the house I’d be sipping a mimosa right about now, myself.

    Happy new year, Mel! Keep up your efforts.

  • 5. Amie Stuart  |  January 1, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    >>Only for a moment did I consider dropping them off at their fathers’ house, while screaming out my window “Happy New Year!”

    HOWLING!! MY ex ended up getting the kids from yesterday until Sunday. THey are in San Antonio visiting the step-mama’s family! I had two pear martinis. They were delicious. I should write. but damnit I’m tired!

  • 6. Jen  |  January 2, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    You should have seen the wine and whiskey flowing at chat on New Years Eve. Scandalous!!! LOL.
    Seriously, you ROCKED in 2008. And I know you’re going to rock in 2009 too.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I’ll take one of those mimosas, it will go with the sangria I had at dinner. Right?

    Yes, dear. Liquor goes with liquor. Somehow they compliment each other. Or that’s what you believe after a while. 😉

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Did you quit your job to be a full time writer?

    I quit my job for many reasons. Unfortunately none of them were because I planned to write my little heart out. I have 300 hours to do for an internship so I can get my paralegal certificate. In order for my hours to count I have to work under an attorney. Bigger and better things. The good thing…well, I’ll be working less and will have time to write more. But that’s not my sole reason. One of these days I will be able to say I’m writing full time. Not yet though.

    But you can still be jealous. 😉

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks, Edie. Every year I never know how well I’ll do. I continue to surprise myself. And, as what’s become tradition I’m hoping this year I surprise myself once again.

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    If I had any champagne in the house I’d be sipping a mimosa right about now, myself.

    Hey, Bettye. I would share the wealth of champagne, but I drank it all for New Year’s. Anyway, good seeing you here. I’ll head over to see what you’ve been up to.

  • 11. Melissa Blue  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    MY ex ended up getting the kids from yesterday until Sunday.

    Oh, you lucky heifer. I’m on day four. I think. I can’t tell anymore. Days run together when you have your children for 24/7. I predict by Monday I’ll be rocking in a corner, sucking my thumb.

    Anyway, I’ve since learned when the children are gone all your well planned plans go out the window. Being a mother is a full-time job. Enjoy your “me” time.

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Hi, Jen!! I talked to you on the phone. So, there isn’t much to say in this comment.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

