I’m Not Vain, But I Miss The Sound Of My Voice

December 30, 2008 at 4:24 am 8 comments

Yup, laryngitis, folks. I sound like a boy going through puberty. You know I actually wanted laryngitis once. It would have given me the chance to not speak to people. Yeah, I’m that bad when it comes to being personable. If you don’t believe me ask my friend Kristy.

Anyway, I’ll be back on New Year’s. Hopefully with my voice. Until then I’ve got some crank calls to make.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Santa Is On My Hit List Confessions of a Romance Author: The New Year’s Eve Edition

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  December 30, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Take care of yourself and look forward to seeing more of you in the new year. Hey, are you in for WinoWriMo in January?

    Oh and a good remedy for throat problems is licorice tea. No it really doesn’t taste much like licorice, but it does wonders for your throat.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Mmmmm, licorice tea! One of my favourites! Yes, do take care of yourself. It really isn’t much fun to be sick this time of year when all the festivities are supposed to be happening.

    I can totally relate about wishing to lose your voice though. I sometimes pretend my cold is worse than it is so that I can sit silently and not talk much to people. The closest I came to actually having that happen was when I got mono and then I was really so miserable that I couldn’t enjoy any of the benefits of the loss of voice.

  • 3. Jess  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Oh no! Hope it clears up. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I had laryngitis the day of a huge final presentation – they were scheduled across three days, and you weren’t allowed to miss your day. People had missed theirs on the first two days (without cause) and been allowed to make it up, but when I went to class and (through charades) got the professor to realize I couldn’t TALK, but I wasn’t allowed to present at a later date because it was the last day, even though I had a valid reason! I cut up my notes and passed them out and wrote on the board, “I can’t speak so you’re going to present for me!” and had my classmates read all my notes. Thank goodness I had written everything down. I wanted an A for originality. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Hey, are you in for WinoWriMo in January?

    Is that the editing month? Then, yeah, I’ll be doing it. I opened up the YA and it’s not as bad as I feared.

    And, thanks for the tip. I tried gargoling with vinegar and salt. It worked, but I prefer not to hurl during the process of getting better. God, the worse taste ever to reside in my mouth.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I sometimes pretend my cold is worse than it is so that I can sit silently and not talk much to people.

    Separated at birth, maybe? Lol. I’m not the most social person on most days, but this is taking it to a different level. Thanks for the get well wishes. Trust me, tomorrow I am determined to have my voice back. Nothing like Ms. Blue to have a goal. We saw what happens when I have one. WATCH OUT!

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  December 30, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Thank goodness I had written everything down. I wanted an A for originality.

    Yes, you deserved an A for that. Sometimes teachers can get pigheaded about deadlines. Can’t blame them, but you totally pulled through with your idea. Talk about working well under pressure.

    Also, thanks for the get well soon. I’m ready to be at my top speed again. Thankfully, I only get really sick once a year. This cold waited until December to hit me. Cross your fingers for the light at the end of the tunnel.

  • 7. coffeegirl88  |  December 31, 2008 at 12:42 am

    WinoWriMo is a set your own challenge challenge. I’m working on doubling the size of my NaNo story.

  • 8. Raine  |  December 31, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Sorry you’re not feeling well, sweetie.
    Sending ya good vibes, & best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

