The Book Gods Must Have Smiled On Me

December 8, 2008 at 6:09 pm 3 comments

But I had to kiss a couple of frogs to get there. I mentioned I read The Pagan Stone and Nora didn’t disappoint. So I was feeling like they are still good books that make me turn off my internal editor. The next book I picked up, well, the author used the word eerily three times in a span of two pages. I wondered if her internal editor had taken leave. I placed the book back down.

NEXT!

I picked up The More I See You by Lynn Kurland. I had other choices in the historical romance vein, but the more I read the more I couldn’t stop myself from turning pages. Usually when I get books for free I don’t even read the back cover copy. I like to be surprised, but five pages in I knew this book would be a time-travel.

And then it happened. The one thing every reader craves. Even me the picky reader. I was swept away in this story. I loved the heroine. This woman had moxy. And the hero, oh, god, the hero. I’m not for Alpha males by any means, but this one had me drooling over the pages. ‘Cause he was an alpha with beta tendencies. He had humor. I was in love way before the heroine thought herself to be.

The last time I felt this way about a book I was reading Gods in Alabama. A good book just stays with you.

What books have stayed with you?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Confessions of a Romance Author Not Dead, But It Feels LIke It

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edie17  |  December 8, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    Too many to count! I’ll name authors instead: Jennifer Crusie, Karin Tabke, Loretta Chase, Naomi Novik. Cynthia Eden is one to watch. So is my CP, Liz Kreger. 🙂

  • 2. Katie Reus  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:36 am

    (Nora never dissapoints! ) Ditto to the above. Too many books stay with me to list them all. The Brigerton series by Julia Quinn is an all time fave, and anything by Linda Howard is guaranteed to stay in my head and on my bookshelf 🙂

  • 3. Katie Reus  |  December 9, 2008 at 3:36 am

    p.s. You’ve been tagged!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

