Bless Your Poor, Deluded Heart

December 4, 2008 at 7:05 am 5 comments

seemeganrun_w1956_300Okay, I’ll readily admit I stalk my books. I have no shame when I say that. I type in “How Much You Want to Bet?” and “See Megan Run” just to see what new hits I might yield on a particular day. Sometimes I find new reviews, but lately I’ve been finding new outlets my books are offered. I came across this one.

32 bucks for a book that hasn’t even came out in print yet? Are you serious?!! What’s more astounding is that some poor sap will probably buy my book at this price. Listen, AMAZON, for goodness sakes even BARNES AND NOBLE will get you a cheaper price than this. I’m not that big of a writer for anyone to shell out more than the given price for my books. Seriously, if you are that hard up just write me and tell me how much you love me I will purchase the damn book for you. If it means printing out a hard copy and signing that’s what I’ll do, but DAMN folks. 32 bucks?!!! That’s insane. I wouldn’t shell that out for a Jenny Crusie. And I love JENNY CRUSIE. I heart that woman. I would be the first in line once she writes a stand alone novel. I would be that weirdo who will drag her kids out in the cold for her next stand alone novel likes it a Star Trek convention.

Okay, that is all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Piggy Backing… Confessions of a Romance Author

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SLC Slave Driver  |  December 4, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Tell us how you really feel, Mel…
    I was a little upset last year when iIordered a couple of books from an author and they came signed, to me. Why? I have a habbit of donating stuff to the library so others may enjoy, and I felt obligated to keep them instead.
    You have a great day. I start my 5 day grind tonight.

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  December 4, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    So let me get this straight, you like Jenny Crusie? Cool. But apparently you don’t like he collaberations. Interesting.

    Yeah, spending more than list price for a book (especially one not in print yet) is a bit much.

    Oh and Slave Driver I have a solution for you. Tear out the autograph page. It only hurts for a second. Yes, I’ve done it. Of course I was more than happy to unload said book.

  • 3. edie17  |  December 4, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I think it’s cool that your books are offered for $32. I’d be laughing.

    Hey, Melissa, you’re worth it!

  • 4. SLC Slave Driver  |  December 4, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    @ CG- I know, the solution is simple, but since the people who live in my state go through library books with White-Out and remove all the “bad words” and naughty bits, I have a thing about ripping the pages out. I don’t want to give anyone ideas about censorship. Next thing you know we’ll be having a good old fashioned book burning.

    I was already dinged at my critique group for using “Salty Language” in my ms. That was exactly the phrase used, “Salty Language.” And that was only in the 1st chapter, they missed all the really creative swearing later on…

    Mel, maybe they were hyping it as a “Rare First Edition” …

  • 5. coffeegirl88  |  December 4, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Slave Driver you have my sympathies, or you will once I stop giggling over the insanity of it all.

    I guess I was lucky. The one book I did tear the page out of, the author had signed on the one blank page right after the title page. So I wasn’t concerned.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

