More Time Pondering: Goals for December 31st

November 23, 2008 at 6:20 am 5 comments

A while back I checked out where I stood with my yearly goals. I can say my learning arc this year hit me square between the eyes and wasn’t exactly on the list. But that’s not the point of this post.

My goals for December 31st:

1. Finish Getting Over Mr. Wrong–60,000 words

There is just something about this story that keeps drawing me back to it. I have a loosely written synopsis for it that I’ll have to scratch, but the story is there buzzing in my head. It’s mainly Savanah that is whispering in my ear. She wants to prove herself to her family and to herself. Plus it has a good hook. This is the story I hope to start writing on the 1st for the Sven writing Challenge. If I write 2k a day I can be done on by the New Year. Hopefully, writing the final words as 2009 pops its head out.

*Can’t be sure, but I think I made a goal of writing 300 words a day. That equals 109,500 words. Just counting the mss I completed, I’ve met my goal. (116,000 words and that’s just from July ’til now)

2. Edit Brice and Hazel’s story.

A lovely person who shall remain nameless went through this ms. It’s also been more than 6 weeks since I looked at it. I’m ready to tear this story a new orifice and make it all nice and shiny. I think what’s truly different this time is that I have a plan on how to revise this story. I’m not hesitant to cut the first chapter and rewrite it from scratch. This will definitely go on my “what I’ve accomplished” list–I’ve finally learned how to truly revise.

Anyway, since the story is only 30k, it won’t take me long to go through it. I’ll attack 15-20 pages a day and that should wrap it up by the first. I’m kind of looking forward to it.

3. Since I’m an overachiever when it comes to my writing…’cause trust me in real life I’m the laziest person you would ever meet…I want to revise Jorja’s story.

This revision I’m dreading. This is the story that got me out of my writing and personal funk. I might as well consider it my first novel at how craptastic it is. BUT, I absolutely adore this heroine. She has the wit, snark and spunk that I want all my heroine’s to have. It’s also one of those strange writer crazy things that will make me dedicate any time to this story-Jorja deserves it. So does her friend Tracy who is demanding a POV in third person. (The story is in first at the moment) And the hero wants more time to check out his Big Beautiful Woman.

We’ll see with the last one.

Off to ponder some more.

How is your NaNo going? Given up? Still Going? Think everyone who participated is insane anyway?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Give A Girl Free Time and She Ponders If Being a Nerdy Dork Could Win You A Prize…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edie17  |  November 23, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Good going! I’m impressed!

    I’m not doing NaNo, and with all the promo I’ve been doing for the American Title V contest, I haven’t had time for the steady writing I like to do. Now we have two weeks before the next round, but my husband has a lot of days off and not many days working this next week. Plus we’ll be doing family stuff.

    The week following Thanksgiving I’m going to work out a daily schedule and I’ll stick to it.

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  November 23, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Well, I’m currently typing my NaNo script into a word document. By my estimation I’ve lost 300 words off my original word count. I can’t quite say I’ve given up because I have a completed story, it’s just that right now it’s only 31,000 words. I’m looking forward to working on draft 2, I had just hoped draft 1 would take me to 50,000 words. Oh well.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  November 25, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Edie, my heart goes out to you. I have to promote ’cause that turns it tinto dollars. I still hate it with a passion. I still haven’t figured out a way to say, “buy my book” without being crass or annoying.

    I’m still wishing you the best of luck.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  November 25, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    31k is better than nada. Plus, being done with the story is more important. Also, here’s a little secret…NaNo is the first time I made my desired wordcount the first time around. So that’s eight completed books under my belt before I hit the right tune. You are doing fine.

  • 5. johnny  |  December 30, 2008 at 6:25 am

    ls1YVR Thanks for good post

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

