It’s Just Fiction, right?

November 11, 2008 at 12:22 am 9 comments

Thanks to the lovely Cynthia for giving me an idea for this post. She may hate me afterwards though…

Anyway, in the blog post below a commenter pointed out, it’s just fiction. I shouldn’t care about the stacks of dead students and teachers racking up. Fall into the story. Enjoy it.

It’s just fiction, right?

My answer *which I never expect anyone to agree with* is no, it’s not just fiction. Well, not when it’s good fiction. When I invest myself into a writer’s world and I’m buying this world stock, lock and barrel, I expect them to stick to the rules of their world and not to kick me out the story. It’s kind of like when you love a show (or movie) and then they replace the character with a different actor.

It’s fiction, right?

Not when I’m going into a movie theater, or opening a book, or turning on the t.v. I’ve made a silent agreement with the author. I’m going to believe this is real for the time being. Entertain me. And the author tells me “hold onto your hat.”

Bad fiction…different story.

But, with this type of trust I’ve been able to imagine a place like Cheers does exist. Frasier does in fact bicker with Niles ALL the time. Harry Potter defeated evil. Clicking some sparkly red shoes can take me home. Vampires are hot if they look like Brad Pitt. A guy can touch dead people and bring them back to life for one minute. The best of the best world is one where Tucker Longstreet swings, shirtless on a hammock. And, that I have every right to not be wowed by State Farm Insurance commercial ’cause that cheating SOB from Waiting to Exhale should not be trusted. (Well, no, I just can’t afford them, but I do shudder every time the commercial comes on.)

Hmm, my life is exciting when I think about all the “just fiction” I’ve allowed in it.

Is it just fiction to you?

*Cynthia, you may now hate me.*

Entry filed under: writing. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

The One Problem With Buffy Getting To The End Never Gets Easier

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  November 11, 2008 at 12:52 am

    Hey, I hated you the second I saw my name in the first paragraph since you do have a habit of blaming me for things. But since you’re fabulous, I’ll forgive you.

    Okay, you said you wanted your stories to follow the rules of the world the writer created. But that’s not the standard you’re holding Joss Whedon to. You are putting your high school experiences into HIS world. He has created a world where weird stuff happens, all the time, and the “normals” in the story don’t notice.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  November 11, 2008 at 1:30 am

    and not to kick me out the story.

    I also said this. I should have clarified. Something so obvious as dead bodies popping up, BUT no one can know she’s a slayer seems inconsistent. (Rules Joss in fact created) I’m expected to believe strange things happen and the town/school as a whole accepts this, but they wouldn’t accept a vampire slayer?

    That doesn’t make sense. I’m being kicked out the story when I think of this. I wouldn’t have time to question if everything lined up. If Joss wowed me enough to not stop and think, “hey, wait a minute…”
    *More or less I’m chalking this up to be his early writing period. I would one day hope no one holds my first novel up to me and tell me I know nothing, shudder*

    There are movies, books, t.v. that after watching a million times I pick up on the inconsistencies. By then I love the story so much I could care less. I’m catching this stuff my first time around.

    Doesn’t bode well…but I’m open at the moment to give it a try. And, because so many people I know love it. (I adore them, so something must be right with it)

  • 3. edie17  |  November 11, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Melissa, I know what you’re getting at. We suspend our disbelief to believe that a skinny girl like Buffy could be a demon slayer. When there are so many bodies and little town becomes the demon capital of the world, I don’t believe it. My disbelief can’t be suspended any longer. And if I don’t believe it … well, I’ve got a good book I can read instead.

  • 4. coffeegirl88  |  November 11, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Okay, I see your point now. Of course, the irony of me defending Buffy to you hasn’t been lost on me. I have seen maybe 6 episodes in total and I’ve never been a fan. Now, Angel, that’s a different story. I enjoyed that for a couple seasons.

    And you’re right, early writing can be dodgy even for Joss Whedon. Not everyone who gets a series on tv spent a decade crafting it before they get a network pick up.

  • 5. Amie  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    >>By then I love the story so much I could care less.

    This is my attitude about Buffy, Angel, Firefly and yes, Kay Hooper. I watch what I watch (and read what I read) because I can overlook the inconsistencies etc. in teh name of being entertained.

    I dunno, maybe I can just suspend my disbelief more than others? *shrugs*

  • 6. Amie  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Coffee…the one thing that struck me about Angel was that there were just as many (if not MORE) bad humans as demons/baddies. Maybe it’s just me but I really liked that about the series.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    When there are so many bodies and little town becomes the demon capital of the world, I don’t believe it.

    My theory is that Joss cast his net so wide that he didn’t care or just overlooked dead bodies would draw notice. But I want to see episode three, but don’t have access to it on FanCast. sigh.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    I dunno, maybe I can just suspend my disbelief more than others? *shrugs*

    Usually so do I. I’ll go where you’ll take me. I have many WTF moments while being entertained, but if the story just won’t let me go then I hold off until the very end.

    Coffee… Snerk. I know what you mean. Better thought process after drinking some.

    You know the reason why I love Joss is because he can make the bad guy loveable. On some level you can cheer for him. You love when he comes on the scene and terrorizes the world. He has the ability to make you overcome your reservations about what bad guys are supposed to be *they laugh evilly and wear capes* Seriously, I love Spike.

    Or maybe I’m on of the sick people who LOVE anti-heroes. Ironman, anyone? Besides the graphics being beyond cool, I loved that Ironman wasn’t another Peter Parker–goody two shoes.

  • 9. Ruthie  |  November 18, 2008 at 5:07 am

    It’s definitely not just fiction, especially when the author does such a good job of making characters and settings so real that I almost expect to see them when I walk out the front door. If my thoughts really do create my reality, than in that moment what I’m reading is just as real to me as the couch I’m sitting on. Funny that I came across your blog for the first time today when i just wrote something on this topic earlier this morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

