FANCAST Saved Me

November 8, 2008 at 7:54 pm 4 comments

So, I felt the wall, a block coming at me like a frieght train last night. I knew I had to do something and then nothing came. In times like this I watch t.v., but I wanted to see Pushing Daisies. No new episodes. I watched some Monk and then they wanted me to download. So, I’ve been hearing about Buffy. You’d be shocked to know I never watched ONE episode of this show. I would flip through the channels stop and then move on. What was so interesting about a girl who wanted to be a cheerleader? *No, I never liked cheerleaders. Call me prejudice. Go ahead.*

But last night, desperate, and bored I watched season 1, espisode 3 and then 4. If I hadn’t been buzzing with new ideas, knowing I was on the right track with my story, I would have watched episode 5.

Thank you, Joss Whedon.

Thank you, Pam for bragging about how wonderful this show was. (You are totally getting a shout out in my next book.)

So, I have a 5,000 word goal to meet today. (I’m so close to the half-way point of 50k, I can taste it.) It’s not going to write itself.

Sidenote: I surfed the NaNo boards last night and realized I’m not crazy. Some people have already hit the 50k mark. (some above) They pfft at my measely 21k. Some are even trying to write 10k in five hours. Insane. I tells ya. Insane. *of course I totally want to try it.*

Entry filed under: books, butt in chair, inspiration, internet surfing, plotting, procrastination, rambling, voices in my head, writer crazy, writer envy, writers's block, writing, writing goals. Tags: , , .

Gift Books The One Problem With Buffy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  November 8, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    So does it make you feel better to know you’re only mildly NaNo crazy?

    Oh and you’re not alone in not seeing Buffy. I have seen a few episodes, but I never jumped on the bandwagon. Now, Angel, I enjoyed that. Of course, you can’t pry Firefly/Serenity away from me. I mean, come on, naked Nathan Fillion how can that possibly be wrong?

    Hmm, I haven’t seen Firefly lately, maybe that will be my daily reward since I won’t see a new Netflix until at least Wednesday.

  • 2. randy  |  November 8, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Haha it’s fun to try at least–exercises like writing for an hour or two straight without hitting the backspace key. Granted, when you do that it’s likely you’ll have a lot more junk to cut in the end. Still.

  • 3. Crystal Jordan  |  November 9, 2008 at 2:57 am

    I love Joss, just sayin’

    And I notice I’m not one of your sidebar linkies. Mel got to be there, but not me. *sniffle*

  • 4. edie17  |  November 9, 2008 at 6:14 am

    I liked Buffy but wasn’t a huge fan.

    I think 21K is awesome!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

