400 Words to My Name from Yesterday

November 5, 2008 at 6:55 pm 9 comments

But I’m not complaining. Unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past 221 years, something big happened last night. For the first time I sat down on an election night and watched all of it unfold. After they called the winner (thankyouverymuchCalifornia) and McCain gave his awe-inspiring concession speech, the air around the world became subdued. The buzz of the win was still there, but the feeling of the night changed. I just didn’t get it. In my defense, it takes a while for things to settle on me. *It took 10 hours for me to get excited and to start screaming that I was going to be published.*

This morning I was listening to the radio and one man said, *paraphrased* “Everyone can now look at their child and say you can be anything you want to be and it has meaning.” I started to cry. I’m crying now as I typed that. Because I can say to my son and daugher, whose skin is black, who will come from the wrong side of the railroad tracks that they can be anything they want to be. They can shoot for the stars and they can pluck one from the sky.

I really don’t care who you voted for yesterday, but I hope you will carry that message with you.

Also, last night on the Champage (General) Rosebuds Bestseller list was How Much You Want to Bet? as #1 and See Megan Run as # 2. Thankfully, it didn’t take me long to start screaming.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Confessions of a Romance (YA?) Author Gift Books

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    YAY! And I’d like to think that I helped all 3 things along. You know if you’d write faster I could buy faster.

  • 2. Edie  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Congratulations on your Nr. 1 & 2 books! And, YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Obama won! For the first time in a long time I see some hope for this country. It’s gotten to the point where if we didn’t have family here we would have moved to Canada. I can only imagine how much more it means to you.

  • 3. Amie Stuart  |  November 5, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    I can’t do anything until i finish these page proofs so no new goodness for me

  • 4. Raine  |  November 7, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Congrats on #1&2, hon. 🙂

    And to America for rocking our world last night!

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    If I wrote any faster I’d need new hands.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    For the first time in a long time I see some hope for this country.

    So are a lot of other people. But still there are idiots out there saying Obama’s the anti-Christ or some stupid shit like that. We all can’t be smart.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Amie, you are the hardest working woman I know. You seem to always have something due. (((Hugs)))

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Thanks, Raine.

  • 9. Amie  |  November 7, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Mel…they’re done. I faxed them in about an hour ago and just ate lunch. As to writing *shrugs* who the hell knows. We’ve got a basketball tournament tonight and tmo and I LURVE me some b’ball so I have to go see my small boy play.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

