Confessions of a Romance (YA?) Author

November 4, 2008 at 7:06 am 13 comments

confessionalIt’s been two months since I last confessed.

And, you’ve never seen rambling like this before…

First, the novel is rocking along. As of 9:11 p.m. I’ve written 9,126 words in three days. My mind is gone. I can’t speak on what it’ll look like on the 30th of this here month.

My children have been fed. My daughter is watching Finding Nemo and I can hear my son playing under the sink, in the cubboards, with my spare car keys. (not enough jingle for my real keys)

You can call me certifiable insane by now. My head is full of this story. I’m thinking of the scene I’m writing and what scene will follow. I really don’t want to stop to take a break, but I have to get up early tomorrow. (Which just means I’ll fall into bed around 12 a.m.)

My house is clean. It hasn’t looked this way since I moved into the house. So I have no excuse to NOT write. I know folks, I did this to myself.

Well, not my house, but the living room, kitchen, bathroom and my room. My children’s rooms looks like disaster areas. One of these days my kids may walk into their room and I’ll never hear from them again.

As I’ve said, at this time I’m ceritifiable.

I never realized how typing fast is a plus until I started NaNo. That 80 words per minute is making my word count look impressive.

Shh. Don’t tell anyone, but this book is craptatic.

I’ve been eating LOTS of Halloween candy. Sugar is sooooo not good with crack in a cup.

My characters are funny.

My characters are supposed to be in their teens, but they sound just like the adults I write except there are no smoldering looks and no sex. No velvet shafts going on here. Nor has anyone said or mentioned the words breasts, mounds, kiss, grasp, (I have used gasp), absolutely no writhing.

Here’s a snippet:

“…There are consequences for everything you do that isn’t part of the natural of things in the magical world. So, when you die the bunny will still live. Unless of course it starves to death.” Cian pulled something else out of the frog. Jalani fought the gag.

“And this is humane?”

“No, it’s science. These frogs died natural deaths. A company shipped them here and voila—anatomy 101.”

No you may not steal my craptastic brillance. Copywritten: The Year of the Certifiable.

If I play “Bust Your Windows” by Jazmine Sullivan one more time, I’m going to be brainwashed into finding one of my ex-boyfriends and busting out their car windows.

My son is now watching his himself in the mirror. I think he’ll be vain when he gets older, but I still love him. Wait–he’s now singing his own made up song: “I’m wiping my mouth!”

I think my daughter actually went into her room. I should call the police for search and rescue.

No, really I’m fine. I’m not certifiable * There is nothing to see here folks.* Yeah, I know. The crazy person is always the last to know. (Just imagine what my book looks like if I’m writing post like this.)

I took my daughter to go see High School Muscial on Friday. If I had a loaded gun by the fifth song in that freaking movie, I wouldn’t have been responsible for my actions. No jury would have convicted me.

This is your brain on NaNo. Just say no.

Seriously, I warned you this would be the ultimate rambling post.

That is all.

Entry filed under: butt in chair, confessions, rambling, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Go Vote! 400 Words to My Name from Yesterday

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Mel, you’re doing fabulous! Even if you ramble, you still rock!

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  November 4, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    In the misery loves company department I’m THRILLED to hear someone else’s mind is friend 3 days in. Yeah, I’m so not looking forward to what the end of the month will bring. Although I suspect there’s going to be a small group of very crazy wiffers.

  • 3. Jess  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    HEH. Mel, II ❤ you.

    Also – I knnnnnow. I am SO loving writing this book and there are such CONSTRAINTS on my time because I NEED sleep or I am medically challenged and that means I can only write on my LUNCH break and a little in the mornings before I catch the TRAIN and I am SAD that I cannot just WRIIIIIIIITTE away my days. 😦

    There. Rambling back atcha. 😀

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Thanks, Edie.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Yeah, I’m so not looking forward to what the end of the month will bring.

    It’s not going to be pretty I can tell you that much. But I did some math that if I can write 3,333 words a day I can be done on the 15th. There will be no accounting for my sanity at that point.

  • 6. Slave Driver  |  November 4, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I’ll stand here in the back of the room doing the “Cabbage patch” and cheer ya’ll on.

    Go nano, it’s your birthday, go nano, get your book done, go nano…

  • 7. Katie Reus  |  November 4, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Your rambling brought me brief entertainment for the day! Somehow, over night, I came down with a ridiculous cold so now I’m sniffling, barely able to talk, and staring at the clock waiting to go home….maybe early 😉

    Good luck with the writing girl!!

  • 8. coffeegirl88  |  November 4, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Cool, you’ll be finished with NaNo just in time to start Sven, well actually Sven starts on the 10th, but there is that 7 day buffer built in.

  • 9. Jen  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:57 am

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!!! You go girl!!!!

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:46 am

    Go nano, it’s your birthday, go nano, get your book done, go nano…

    After today I’m going to need it. I applaud anyone who got their writing done with the election going on. I’m going to try and make it up, but really unless you were hiding under a rock you are affected by today’s election.

  • 11. Melissa Blue  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Katie, I must ask you to not visit the blog until your bug passes. I hate being sick. Not the regular person who hates being sick, but uber hate being sick. I revert to a two year old who isn’t allowed to dress themselves.

    Just kidding. I hope you feel better in a few days. *Hint, give it to someone else.*

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Cynthia, I am now asking myself why in the hell did I sign up for Sven along with NaNo. I’ve come to the realization I must have a death wish. Death by the way of writing myself to death.

  • 13. Melissa Blue  |  November 5, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Jen, I love you. That is all that needs to be said.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

