Silver Platter NaNoWriMo Book

October 31, 2008 at 7:16 am 18 comments

EDITED TO ADD: I’m over at Southern Fried Chicas today.

Let me give you the backstory first. I think it was about a week and a half ago or maybe two weeks ago I had a strange dream. Not a Martin Luther King type of dream, but as close as I’ll get as having one like him. I was in a wedding. Kid and Play were doing there famous dance and then my father, during the reception came up to me, with fear plain on his face, and said to me and told me I needed to get back to my room. My room was 613. (Even being asleep I knew I needed to take note of this. 13 is just my number.)

At this point, the dream really started to get strange. All of sudden I was a teenager again. I was between 14-16. I had a guy friend. He felt like my brother, but not blood related. We had powers. Cool powers. This evil being was following us, trying to erase us off the face of the earth. We were hiding from him, and right before I made myself wake up, were we about to defeat him.

More things happened in this dream than I’m willing to share, but all the details were so vivid. A part of myself was on high alert. It was like 5:30 in the morning, but I forced myself awake. I found the nearest pen and paper and started to jot down all the details the dream had given me about this world and the powers that I had and my friend had. The idea bugged the hell out of me for the rest of the day. Even at work I kept writing down details on the post-it notes. Out of that strange dream that started off with Kid and Play (Seriously, there were doing the famous dance move from House Party) an idea for a YA took root.

This is what I have so far.

I’ve also put together a Book Soundtrack with upbeat songs even though the book feels dark, but I won’t know until tomorrow (tonight at 12:01) when I start writing the book. The heroine, Jalani (Jelani meaning mighty i.e. powerful) is snarky as usual. Cian (Cian= ancient i.e. knowledgeable) is cynical. Both are the perfect characters. Did I mention this is a YA? (Pam, calm down. I know you are still excited…)

The amazing Gwen Hayes told me that’s how the famous Twilight series started. I’m not sure if this is THE IDEA, but I’m so damn intrigued that I’m committing the next month to writing this book. I think that’s the essence of NaNo. Write an idea and really go where it’ll take you. And, folks that’s what I’m doing. I know I’ll going way, way off the path with writing this YA. I’m a die-hard romance writer (Trust me, I’m thinking of Jalani and Cian’s book when they are grown…Yes, follow your mind to the gutter.) But I can’t ignore this idea.

The moral of this rambling post, novice and newbie writer, go where the ideas take you. (Well, if you are not on contract.) You never know where they will take you.

And, sometimes ideas are given to you on a Silver Platter. Don’t be scared to ruin them by writing them. It takes balls I can tell you that much. By 12:01 tomorrow night I may hate this idea, but I’m not stifling my creativity by trying it first.

Have you had a strange idea for a book and still decided to write it?

(Also, let me know your NaNo screen name. I’ll add you to my buddy list. You know once the site isn’t slogging through the thousands upon thousands of Nanoers.)

Entry filed under: books, day in the life, genre, inspiration, Mojo, new books, plotting, rambling, strange dreams, the process, writer crazy, writing, Young Adult. Tags: , , .

Now For The Revealing of The Ultimate Princess Bride Fan If How I Felt After The First Day of NaNo Was A Song

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Raine  |  October 31, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Have you had a strange idea for a book and still decided to write it?

    Yes. Several.
    Haven’t sold most of them, but they were a blast to write. 🙂

    Good luck with the YA!

  • 2. Marianne  |  October 31, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Very cool!!!

    I did dream one story (it’s published at TWRP, “Magic”) from beginning to end. Hasn’t happened since — I sure wish it would.

    LOL.

    Here’s my NaNo page (you can buddy me from there): http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/user/102248

    Good luck!

  • 3. gwen hayes  |  October 31, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    G’luck Gorgeous! It sounds awesome.

  • 4. coffeegirl88  |  October 31, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I have one very dark romance that I’m determined to write, even if I’m struggling to make the romance work. I just know it will.

    I’d give you my Nano screen name, but you already have it. 😉

    Slightly off topic, but not so much, this just knowing you need to do something? Yeah, I’m working that right now, just not in regard to my writing but my personal life.

    So you’ll be diving in at 12:01 too?

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Haven’t sold most of them, but they were a blast to write.

    Most is the operative word. 😉

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Marianne, I’ve already added you. Can’t remember when I just followed the buddy link to you.

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Thanks, Gwen.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    So you’ll be diving in at 12:01 too?

    I’ll be cleaning up until then. (My house is a complete mess. Plus I have a lot more plotting to do.) I’ve bought good coffee. I’m ready; I’m ready; I’m ready.

  • 9. edie17  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Awesome! I had a dream inspired story, but it didn’t work out. I was a new writer then and I wasn’t good enough to write it. But I actually dreamed an entire story.

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  October 31, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    But I actually dreamed an entire story.

    That is cool. My dream was really about the world building, which I hear is a headache to iron out. My only hope is that the story doesn’t get bogged down with them.

  • 11. Slave Driver  |  October 31, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Ooooh…I would love to join you all over there but November is the beginning of my busy season and it’s just too much pressure. But good luck to you all. Have a blast.

  • 12. Jess  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Weird – my Nano idea was handed to me on a silver platter in a dream-state, too. It’s futuristic romance and the first book I’ll write that is PRIMARILY romance and SECONDARILY scifi/fantasy. (I know this by tracing my character arc turning points. *G* it’s the real romance deal for a change.)

    MY Nano name is The English Rose, but I’m doing Sven IV for accountability moreso than using Nano. (The website is not user-friendly – simply too many users, and the update-at-will means there’s no actual accountability, unlike Sven’s twice-weekly check-ins.)

  • 13. Melina  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Wow! That is so lucky! And it sounds like a really cool story. Good luck w/ NaNo! (So excited that it starts in a few hours!)

  • 14. Pam  |  October 31, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I love the idea, even though I keep snickering at the Kid ‘n Play part. Was your hair a big tower, too?

    Rock on, my Nano-kicking friend!!!

  • 15. Melissa Blue  |  November 1, 2008 at 12:49 am

    Ooooh…I would love to join you all over there but November is the beginning of my busy season and it’s just too much pressure.

    Well, you can always do it in January. Rope in all the people you know and blackmail them into doing it after the holidays.

  • 16. Melissa Blue  |  November 1, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Weird – my Nano idea was handed to me on a silver platter in a dream-state, too.

    It’s going around this year. It’s almost like the sky is opening up and raining down NaNo ideas.

  • 17. Melissa Blue  |  November 1, 2008 at 12:59 am

    Good luck w/ NaNo! (So excited that it starts in a few hours!)

    I can’t wait!!

  • 18. Melissa Blue  |  November 1, 2008 at 1:01 am

    I keep snickering at the Kid ‘n Play part.

    You should ’cause it is funny. Who dreams of Kid and Play?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

