You Know That Perception Stuff I’m Always Talking About….

October 16, 2008 at 10:30 pm 9 comments

Well, here is the best real life example:

Jessica Faust had this to say about how the crappy economy will affect publishing. *After reading an article*

And, this is Kristin Nelson’s thoughts regarding the same article.

Now how does this tie into writing?

What does your character see? How can two people read the same thing and walk away with two different perspectives? Heck, they have the same type of job, so one would assume they’d read that article in the same way.

WRONG.

So take a moment folks and walk a mile in your character’s perception.

That is all. *Back to stalking my e-mail*

Entry filed under: agents, Books Ends, internet surfing, Jessica Faust. Tags: , , .

I needed a distraction More From the Evil Depths of YouTube

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  October 16, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I saw that this morning, actually read one blog immediately after the other. Just as I was starting to worry, I read the more positive one.

    So, do you need another distraction from email, I mean at this rate it’s going to file a restraining order any minute now.

  • 2. Amie Stuart  |  October 17, 2008 at 2:25 am

    If you want a real distraction, sign up for Twitter

    *evill laugh*

    I actually thought they were pretty close–except for Kristin’s auction *laugh*

  • 3. Edie  |  October 17, 2008 at 2:39 am

    I read them both. I like Kris Nelson’s take better. 🙂

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  October 17, 2008 at 4:00 am

    So, do you need another distraction from email, I mean at this rate it’s going to file a restraining order any minute now.

    I got a noticed in the mail that I must wait at least 10 minutes before checking it again.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  October 17, 2008 at 4:02 am

    I actually thought they were pretty close–except for Kristin’s auction *laugh*

    That was such a subtle smart ass joke and it made me want to write faster so I could submit to her.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  October 17, 2008 at 4:03 am

    I like Kris Nelson’s take better.

    The way things are going in this country, world people really don’t want to buy into gloom and doom. Plus, we’re writers, we want to believe we still have a chance against all odds.

    And, really, her last line just made me laugh.

  • 7. coffeegirl88  |  October 17, 2008 at 6:39 am

    Oh oh, I second the evil suggestion of joining Twitter. It’s so much fun. There are a couple wiffers there, I’m sure you could find a couple cherries, maybe a diva or two.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  October 17, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I don’t need Twitter. I’m not even sure how I get things done now. But…Yeah, I’m going to go over there just to check it out.

  • 9. Katie Reus  |  October 26, 2008 at 4:23 am

    I like Kristin Nelson’s take better, but I’m a glass half full kind of gal 🙂 The economy might suck a** right now but I’m not going to stop writing or buying books.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

