YouTube Ate My Prolific-Ness

October 7, 2008 at 1:25 pm 4 comments

Some would consider Youtube Brain Rot. I call it the best excuse since “dogs ate homework”. I can’t pinpoint when I discovered Youtube. Though I’m sure it was after dial-up, but before I upgraded to DSL and became a Nethead. But, oh, how I love Youtube. It’s how I would feel about Wal-Mart if I never overspent my budget when going there, but that’s another post.

Youtube is a different black-hole for time than video games like Bubble Shooter—best brain rot known to writer—or like blog hopping. You can even say the latter is a form of networking. The former is for plot purposes.

But Youtube—it ate at least three novels I could have written. Though I don’t feel like it was time wasted. I found Dixie Chicks, Jamie Fox’s stand up, the poet who penned “What Teachers Really Make”, Patti LaBelle rolling around on the floor with hair that looked like she stuck her finger in a light socket. I mean, come on, Tina Fey as Palin is worth the 10 minutes it sucks out of my writing time. I’ve discovered David Sedaris and his manly-pee cathether(sp?). You have to see the Letterman video to understand. Lastly, unlike my writing time, I can even spend Youtubing with my kids.

Sidenote: Have you seen the video with Richard Simmons on “Whose Line is it Anyway?”

Priceless time waste.

Then again it’s not always one.

Okay, I lied. It’s a total Brain Rot

Entry filed under: inspiration, internet surfing, writing, writing woes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

THE KISSING BOOK CONTEST Dear Reader, I have devised an evil plot against my children

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edie17  |  October 7, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I’m spending too much time with You Tube too! I go to the SNL site to watch Tina Fey’s skits. I wish she was running for President. I’d vote for her!

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  October 7, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    My co-worker said the same thing yesterday.

  • 3. SLC Slave Driver  |  October 7, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    I like “Charley the Unicorn and Candy Mountain” But I’m weird…Also I get an occasional Mystery Science Theater 3000 fix when I’m jonesing. It chapped my ass when they took it off the air. Bad movies never had it so good.

    And I’d like to thank Lani for hooking me on Cake Wrecks. But at least the time sink is short term.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  October 7, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Mystery Science Theater 3000 fix

    Lol. I remember this show. Cake Wrecks are also a good source of time suck, but at least it’s entertaining.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

