THE KISSING BOOK CONTEST

October 2, 2008 at 4:44 pm 10 comments

“Is this a kissing book?”
~Grandson

This will be the trivia to end all trivia. If you are a fan of The Princess Bride I’d suggest you come back around the 19th when I kick off the contest. (Trust me, I’ll remind you.) Since See Megan Run deals with true love, I used this movie as inspiration. I even had a discussion with my editor on the proper way to spell “Wov, Twoo, Wov”. (Can’t remember how it’s spelled in the book.)

But that’s neither here or there. This is your first and last warning to watch this movie again. You think you know it. No you don’t. Until you’ve watched it backwards and forwards, the director’s commentary, and even the extra tidbits, YOU KNOW NOTHING about this movie.

I’m sure you want to know the prizes:
Grand Prize Winner: Your choice of shirt. (Since you will have to tell me what size you prefer.)
The Most Famous Quote
or
You Seem a Decent Fellow Quote

You’ll also find in your prize package the book that started it all.

And, of course, the biggest fan’s book of The Princess Bride movie. In print and signed by moi.

The runner up will receive a coffee mug with a witty phrase, a $ 5 Amazon gift card. *and, of course, my debut novel in print and signed.*

I’ll post of the rules on the 18th. The first trivia question on the 19th.

Here’s a sample question and if you answer it right you can get a free pdf copy of How Much You Want to Bet? or See Megan Run. *Yes, before it comes out on the 29th.* (If more than one person gets it right I’ll throw names in the hat and pick that way.)

Sample question:
What brand of chips sat behind the sick grandson?

Answer away and I’ll annouce a winner on Monday.

Entry filed under: books, contest, How Much You Want To Bet, See Megan Run. Tags: , , .

A Plead to Law and Order: Criminal Intent YouTube Ate My Prolific-Ness

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  October 2, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Aww, ya know! I’m already in the midst of “The Sell Your Novel Tool Kit” by Elizabeth Lyon, sewing an evil Halloween cloak for the Ride With A With gig at Gardner Village, editing my own wip and now I gotta watch “The Princess Bride” for the 400th time.

    Okay, I’m down with that.

    Oh yes, I downloaded “How Much You Want To Bet” and still need to crack it open.

    I lobby we start making the days last 36 hours. I might get caught up then…

  • 2. Linda Nightingale  |  October 2, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    One of my favorite movies. Been mostly dead all day.

  • 3. Slave Driver  |  October 2, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    That’s “Ride with a Witch” not ride with a with…it’s like I have a lisp or something…

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  October 2, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    I lobby we start making the days last 36 hours. I might get caught up then…

    See the problem with that is 36 hours would soon not be enough. Unless you had to have a mandatory 10 nap. It’ll work for me.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  October 2, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Been mostly dead all day.

    Lol. I’ve come to realize that Wesley had the best lines.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  October 2, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    No, I’m wrong. I think Fezzik said that line. But I still stand by Wesley. *Just call me Buttercup and I mean that in a good way.*

  • 7. Melissa Blue  |  October 2, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    it’s like I have a lisp or something…

    Well, think of it as impersonating the priest in the movie. If you ever get that bad I promise to send you to the doctor and not laugh at you until you are out of ear shot.

  • 8. Slave Driver  |  October 2, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I watched an interview with the actor who played “Prince Caspian” in the 2nd Narnia movie, and he said he modeled his accent after Mandy Patinkin.

    I have to tell you that I love this movie so much it comes up in my MS.

    And we always watched it on days when my kid was home sick from school.

  • 9. pamwritesromance  |  October 2, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Ah, The Princess Bride. Can you believe the dipwads at Yahoo did a reader survey of the top 30 romantic movies of all time and they were so brain damaged TPB wasn’t even in the freaking list?!?

    Inconceivable.

    And I’m guessing Fritos. We’ll see if I’ve still got the chops.

  • 10. Jen  |  October 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I think that the bag is of Cheetos! It’s my favorite movie! They came out with a game based on the movie, check it out at http://www.princessbridegame.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

