Music and Novels

September 26, 2008 at 2:32 am 23 comments

Here’s a small confession: Every now and then I dream of becoming a D.J. I’ve got cassette tapes where I’ve made my own mixes, but since I was a poor teenager at the time it’s recorded off the radio. *Hence becoming a writer instead* My collection ranges from R. Kelly, Otis Redding, Lil’ Wayne, Dixie Chicks, and Aerosmith. It’s safe to say I have an obession with music.

Now how is this related to writing?

Like many authors I create book soundtracks. But sometimes I just have songs that makes the words fly from my fingertips. *The only downside to my writing computer. It doesn’t have any of my music.* But today’s blog I’m showcasing the songs that no matter how many times I’ve listened to them, they just make me want to write. *I somehow was able to write this post after spending hours at Youtube*

The above song is what I listened to while writing See Megan Run. *Sarah Rose is really Donny Hathaway. You’ll understand once you read the book, because of course you’re buying it, right?*

Gone In 60 Seconds they have a song they listen to before stealing cars. This song is the one I prefer to listen before I write. *above*

And this last song, you have to know me to understand why I love it.

What songs can you listen to over and over and over…well, I think you get the point.

Entry filed under: inspiration. Tags: .

Gearing Up for Promotion Music and Novels: Understanding Voice

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:36 am

    All my chapters have song titles. Don’t know if that will fly, but that’s how I remember and visualize what’s going on.

    I use the music to get the emotion, and the pacing of the scene. I can listen to the song in the car and run a scene over and over in my head, then get to a keyboard and (play song again) write it down.

    I don’t really move foreword until I’ve found a song.

    Yeah, I know, I’m weird. But you already knew that.

  • 2. coffeegirl88  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    If I’m just looking for something to write to, then it’s Stairs by INXS. It’s a up tempo piece that keeps my fingers flying. I think I’ve dropped it into nearly every playlist I have.

    I have learned one thing about playlists. Once I’ve started writing to them, I should not change them. Resist the urge to organize them to create a better flow, unless of course there is one song that just clunks. I did that, rearranged a list to move from fast to slow and now the list doesn’t work as well.

    Here’s a question back at y’a. Is there any music you refuse to write to? I have a block of my collection I will not write to because I do not want it to become “work” music.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Don’t know if that will fly, but that’s how I remember and visualize what’s going on.

    You can always delete them later. It’s the type of thing you need to know and not necessarily the reader.

    Or you might start a new trend.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Is there any music you refuse to write to?

    There isn’t any concrete taboo song for me. My moods definitely reflect in what I listen to just to dance around the house and to write to. If I’m in a Neo-Soul mood then that’s my writing music for the day. *The taboo music at that time is anything NOT Neo-Soul* If I’m in the mood for Rap, then all those songs get played. If nothing seems to fit me I go search for new songs to download.

    Simply put, if I had itunes I’d go bankrupt from buying music. My music obession is up there with my books obsession.

  • 5. Slave Driver  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Is there any music you refuse to write to?

    I’ve used everything from Jim Brickman (Waterfall) to Perez Prado (Patricia) to Death Cab for Cutie (I will follow you into the dark) so, no, no limits. To me writing is not work. Now waitressing for eight hours, that’s work. Feeding cattle in January, that’s work. Writing to music? Cake.

    It’s all good.

  • 6. Slave Driver  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Or you might start a new trend.

    Yes, I can see it now. A little banner on the front of my novel that says ” Soundtrack Included!”

  • 7. coffeegirl88  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Oh I can write to anything I have in my iTunes, that’s not the problem. I have some music however, that I’ve put aside mentally. It’s music that is pleasure listening so when I’m searching for story that’s the one place I won’t go. I want to keep at least a small portion of my music library just for me.

    I do consider writing work, it’s how I describe myself. I guess I subscribe to the thought that if you want your job to be writing you need to consider writing your job.

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Feeding cattle in January, that’s work.

    Is that your colorful past popping up again?

    A little banner on the front of my novel that says ” Soundtrack Included!”

    You never know. Once you have fans they want to know every little detail about the book and you.

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I guess I subscribe to the thought that if you want your job to be writing you need to consider writing your job.

    Nothing wrong with that at all. The only thing about writing I consider work is publishing. But when it’s me and my characters I shut the door on the business side. I find my sanity stays intact that way.

    As Cherries likes to say, “Your mileage may vary.”

  • 10. Jen  |  September 26, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    I usually have a slew of music I listen to while I’m writing.
    Stream of Passion, After Forever and Epic with the Command series. Dyonysis, Category 7, Alter Bridge and Linkin Park with The Storm books.
    I’m pretty eclectic too.

  • 11. Alyssa Goodnight  |  September 26, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I can’t listen to anything while I write, but I definitely have imagined soundtracks in my head. Still, I wish I could listen and be inspired…

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Sounds like you are a music lover like me. I know I probably couldn’t write any of my books without music. It used to be the other way around. Go figure.

  • 13. SLC Slave Driver  |  September 27, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Feeding cattle in January, that’s work.

    Is that your colorful past popping up again?

    Cattle feeder, mare handler at a stud farm, both uniform and undercover security,lunch lady, assistant sous chef…

    The list goes on…

    And yes, I would love for writing to be my job, I just don’t think of it as work, just as, since I enjoy it so much, I don’t think of carriage driving as work.

    I have had to chop a hole in a pond in January using an axe so cattle could get to water.

    That is work.

  • 14. Linda LaRoque  |  September 27, 2008 at 12:13 am

    This is terrible to say but I rarely write with music on as it distracts me. Now, I love music and always want something on my myspace page. Right now it’s the Platters. I like just about everything they did.
    Though I write western romances, I don’t listen to much country western music. Weird, huh?
    I love Josh Groban and listen to him in the car alot. For some reason I got my cds out of the car and listened to him today while writing. It didn’t distract me too much.

  • 15. Debra St. John  |  September 27, 2008 at 1:43 am

    My favorite for listening pleasure, inspiration, dancing, or concerts is anything country! A friend of mine in my writers’ group said “there’s a story in every song”. I couldn’t agree more.

  • 16. Nell Dixon  |  September 27, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I have a soundtrack for the book I’m working on now. The main song is Girls in their summer clothes by Bruce Springsteen as it sums up the mood of the book.

  • 17. Melissa Blue  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Still, I wish I could listen and be inspired…

    You never know. I still can’t listen to music when I edit.

  • 18. Melissa Blue  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I have had to chop a hole in a pond in January using an axe so cattle could get to water.

    That is work.

    I am now officially impressed with what you can do. Just call me lazy. I’m a Data Entry Tech in real life.

  • 19. Melissa Blue  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    This is terrible to say but I rarely write with music on as it distracts me.

    Don’t fret. I’ll get you over to the dark side soon enough.

  • 20. Melissa Blue  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    A friend of mine in my writers’ group said “there’s a story in every song”.

    Darn tooting. Just kidding, but I have to agree. I love country music and it may be for that reason alone.

  • 21. Melissa Blue  |  September 27, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    The main song is Girls in their summer clothes by Bruce Springsteen as it sums up the mood of the book.

    Nice to know I’m not the only strange person who has a theme song for a book. Now I need to find your song just to listen to it.

  • 22. pamwritesromance  |  September 27, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    My current WIP came to me totally in songs. It was crazy, but it was fate to the 10th degree. I didn’t need a collage or anything else–just that soundtrack, and it comes to me like a movie.

    Can’t wait for See Megan Run!!!

  • 23. Melissa Blue  |  September 27, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Pam, that is just cool.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

