Gearing Up for Promotion

September 25, 2008 at 5:01 am 12 comments

My second novel

My second novel

See Megan Run will be out in 34 days or so. Not that I’m counting or anything. And it’s time for promotion. You shouldn’t be surprised when I say this aspect of publishing involves liquor and chocolate. And since I’m so freaking fond of lists this is what I’ve done:

1. So far I’ve lined up two guest blog post and one interview. *no, I haven’t forgotten about it. you know who you are.*

2. I’ve been watching a movie that I will use for my ten-day count down type of contest. It’ll be the trivia to end all trivias.

3. I’ve written down a hit list of all my friends who I’ll shall beg to mention me on their blog.

4. I’ve gotten the angle I want to write my next press release on. Took me days of discarding ideas, but I hit one that I’ve also written one of my guest blog post about–mother/daughter relationships.

5. I’ve realized my bank sucks. Not necessarily promo, but it kind of makes buying things toward promotion with my ATM card a headache.

6. Bought some fabulous wine and chocolate. *Refer to the opening line for how this relates to promo.*

Not a lot, but a whole lot more than what I did last time. I also plan to contact the local radio station to see if they want to do a live interview with me. *pray for me folks, I’ve finally lost ALL my marbles*

Now I know I mentioned there are only so many ways to say, “Buy my book”.

So, you know go buy my book.

Really you should see that coming by now.

Entry filed under: being published, books, good books, How Much You Want To Bet, new books, pimping books, promotion, See Megan Run.

I Lied, Last Submission Post Music and Novels

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  September 25, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I have the American Title V contest coming up in January, and I dread thinking about all the publicity I’ll need to do. Even a MySpace page. I’m not good at this stuff!

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  September 25, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Some people are born natural to this stuff. Those are the people I have bad thoughts and about. And then I befriend them to learn a few things.

  • 3. Helen Hunt  |  September 25, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    Nice to know you’re having your book published soon. We could help write a blog entry about your book once it hits the shelf.

    Good luck!

  • 4. coffeegirl88  |  September 25, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Hey, notice what Edie mentioned. MySpace, you have to update your MySpace page with the new book (sorry if you have and I haven’t noticed) and post a bulletin the day it’s released.

    Look forward to buying your book!

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  September 25, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Hi, Helen and I won’t say no to such an offer.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  September 25, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Cynthia, I think I did. I do have SMR as my avatar. Not sure if I did anything else. At the moment, my friend is pimping the hell out of How Much You Want to Bet? I love her for it.

    And, I just hope you love it. Really.

  • 7. Slave Driver  |  September 25, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    Have you contacted your local paper? Here we have “Neighborhood” sections that come out every Friday that are area specific. So if someone in “my” town is doing something noteworthy they write a blurb. Let’s see some sample press releases. I think they can be as important as your query letter, especially since they go to people who are *not* in the *Business*.

    Also I’d line up something with local cable channels. Once it’s out in actual paper see what you can do at your area library. Maybe present a program on e-publishing. I attended one here on self publishing by a writer named Kenny Kemp, and it was fascinating.

    Have a great day.

    Your humble servant,
    SD

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  September 25, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I wrote a press release for How Much You Want to Bet? My mother, who knew somebody who knew somebody, sent it to the local African American paper. I made the front page.

    I plan to send it to them and the Fresno Bee which is the main newspaper for our fair city.

    Before I contact my local library I’ll have to pay off my fine.

  • 9. SLC Slave Driver  |  September 25, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Uh, yeah, I’m down with that like four flats…I’m on my library’s “Ten Most Wanted” list… I believe I might go into some kind of protection program. So…and great job, front page!

    Go, you!

    Slave Driver attempts to do a little cheer kick thingy and pulls a hammie…

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 1:47 am

    All I can say is that I’m surprised after I pay off a fine that the library lets me check out a book.

  • 11. Slave Driver  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:30 am

    Is’nt that amazing, they continue to let us in and allow us to borrow their stuff and STILL, we lawless heathens, bring it back late…

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    I think it’s because we pay our fines, only to rack up some more. But I’m sure they have a Wanted Dead or Alive photo of us by now.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

