If Stalking Your Own E-Mail Was Illegal…

September 19, 2008 at 11:36 pm 17 comments

Then I’d be serving a 25 to life sentence.

I’m sure my e-mail company has me on their watch list. Soon they will charge me for my free account.

But I’m sorry, can’t help it. I know, I know. I’ve got another month of real waiting. Then another two weeks so that I don’t look like a dweeb for asking the day of, “hey, I’d like to know when you’ll get a chance to read my wonderful prose. Thank you. Have a great day!!!!!”

But the e-mail stalking is like a twitch in my right eye.

Maybe even while I’m writing this blog post a reply is waiting. Give me a sec

OMG, I have five e-mails instead of the four…

Oh, never mind it’s just my friend replying to an e-mail I sent her. Doesn’t she know I’m stalking my e-mail?

But really e-mail stalking is an art form. How many times can you find an excuse to check just ONE MORE TIME. You start off easy not expecting to hear any word at all, but the closer D day comes the more you find yourself “just checking”. And then it escalates and your friends have to pry you away from the nearest internet connection.

I digress.

No, wait, let me digress again before I get back on point:

 I read somewhere a writer received a rejection in the mail even though she’d e-queried the agent.

Seriously?

That’s like all of sudden after finding out you’re pregnant you start to see all the “Pregnancies Gone Bad” t.v. specials.

Okay, back to my point–if e-mail stalking was illegal, I’d be serving a 25 to life sentence.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Series, Sequels…An Author’s BFF The Cover Letter/Query Letter Controversy

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  September 19, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Oh don’t tell me keeping in constant contact with email is a bad thing. I came home with a Blackberry tonight. oooohhhh, new shiny! I can check email while out for a walk. What? Don’t look at me like that and no you can’t have my toy. Did I mention is shiny? I did however manage to resist the pink one, barely.

  • 2. Edie  |  September 20, 2008 at 1:24 am

    With gmail, I get a little box that tells me when I have a new email even when my internet is off. It’s hard for me to ignore, darn it.

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:09 am

    A Blackberry? Jeez, I wouldn’t get any writing done.

    And seriously, you should have gone for the pink one. There is nothing wrong with a pink phone. *hides phone in pocket*

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:10 am

    When I had AOL downloaded onto my computer I used to get those. I miss them now, cause I wouldn’t have to check my e-mail every five seconds.

  • 5. Nell Dixon  |  September 20, 2008 at 10:28 am

    My name is Nell and I am a compulsive email checking addict.

  • 6. Charlotte McClain  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Can we be cell mates?

  • 7. coffeegirl88  |  September 20, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    There’s nothing wrong with the pink, I had to think long and hard about it, but then I went for boring silver. Of course, it won’t stop me from buying a colored case to put it in.

    Actually Verizon had 2 different pink hard shell cases. But I’m more of a purple and red girl.

  • 8. raine  |  September 20, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Lol. Love the picture.
    I used to do that. I don’t do that anymore.
    Too many freaking rejections come in e-mail form too.
    At the point now where I try not to even notice the effing CALENDAR (grumble, grumble).

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Can we be cell mates?

    I’ll even share my noodles with ya’ll.

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Nell…

    My name is Melissa…

  • 11. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Cynthia, I love pink when it comes to my phones. Purple is my favorite color, but it never fails I reach for the pink phone every time.

  • 12. Slave Driver  |  September 20, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I have a “smart phone” ( No, I did not give it that name. Someone else did. If I was going to name my phone I’d call it Roger. Or maybe Doris. I should probably take a peek underneath it to get the gender correct first, huh?) Anyway, with my “Smart Phone” I can check my e-mail, browse websites, send text messages, take photos, blah blah blah…So, when I’m standing on the sidewalk working (he he he, no I said “Side Walk” not “Street Corner”) I often check my two email accounts. I get text messages when someone leaves a message or comment on my My Space page, so I can check that too. AND, when I have finally run my “Smart Phone” out of power from cruising the next or sending email I can charge it on the inverter attached to one of the carriage batteries.

    Okay, that really does peg me as a nerd…But on the upside I also write scenes for my MS in the email program and then send them to me. I have a QWERTY keyboard so it goes pretty fast. Yeah, I’m all about multitasking.

    But on another, random and more serious note, last night I had my first “Pirate” wedding. Oh yeah, I see a blog in that. ARGH! me maties…

  • 13. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Your first Pirate wedding? Now you have to tell me about that one.

  • 14. Abigail McKenley  |  September 20, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I do the email stalking thing too! But I think the Blackberry wass the worst thing I could have done to myself. When I see the light blinking red I can’t resist. I’ve got my gmail, yahoo and my website emails coming to it. OMG! As I write this I’ve recoginzed that I indeed have a problem. 🙂

  • 15. Marianne  |  September 21, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Right there with you… I leave my email open while I work, so I can see the inbox number. If I don’t, I swear I get the shakes.

    It’s an illness…

  • 16. Melissa Blue  |  September 21, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    Abi, the thing I love most about the post where I confess, I realize I’m not the only one. I may think what I do is shameful and that no one but weird little or me does it and then I realize I’m one of many with the same neurosis.

    I just hope the dream agent doesn’t read this particular post.

  • 17. Melissa Blue  |  September 21, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Marianne, welcome to the club. If my employer knew how much time I spent on the Internet just to check my e-mail they’d fire me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

