Series, Sequels…An Author’s BFF

September 18, 2008 at 4:51 pm 12 comments

Like the WIPs conversation going on, I’ve been hearing a lot of hoopla about series and/or sequels. I know readers love them. I’m not a huge fan of them, but I do get sucked in like the normal Jane. For instance the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning…I’m a little obsessed. I wanted to buy the book the day it came out *hardcover no less* but then I’d have to wait for months and months for the next book to come out.

And then it dawned on me, that is how authors sell books. Not saying stand alone’s are dead in the water before they make it to the shelves just that books with a series to follow it or a sequel about the loveable secondary character can *and usually does* create a frenzy.

I’m not sure if it’s the sense of community. Or that the author makes the world more appealing when another book is set in the same world.

Or I can just look at Debbie Macomber’s House Series. She’s on 8. The fact that each time one of these books comes out it hits the best seller list…well, it just makes me wonder.

Why in the hell aren’t I writing a series and/or sequel?

That is all.

And what do you think as a reader or writer about series and/or sequels?

Entry filed under: being published, books, doubt, Karen Marie Moning, musings, sequels, series. Tags: , .

WIPS Can be Painful If Stalking Your Own E-Mail Was Illegal…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  September 18, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    I just picked up Jayne Ann Krentz’s Dark Light, which is from her Ghost Hunters series. If you haven’t read them, some of her characters have dust-bunny pets, and some of these dust-bunnies have strange powers. I know the ones in my house have the power to procreate. First I see one, and then everywhere I look I see more.

    My next book will be the first of a series. I’m looking forward to writing it. 🙂

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  September 19, 2008 at 2:31 am

    My next book will be the first of a series.

    You may not be the only one. Just putting that out there.

  • 3. coffeegirl88  |  September 19, 2008 at 3:30 am

    I have a love/hate relationship with connected books. My first encounter with them unfortunately set this tone. See, a couple years back I found Shannon McKenna and picked up one of her books. Loved it and bought several others. Guess what I did? I started with book 5 in the series and somehow managed to read them in perfect reverse order. I still enjoyed the books, but a lot of the mystery was gone.

    I’ve since learned to pay much better attention to books.

    I don’t mind going back into known worlds as a reader but I would also like to see what else a writer can write. I mean if all a writer does is write about one world are they really capable of doing anything else?

    Writing them? I do have an idea or two for a series of books but I haven’t done anything with them in a very long time.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 19, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    That’s how I stumbled across Nora Roberts. I read Heart of the Sea (I think that’s the name) in her Irish trilogy first. I’d missed most of the world building, so when I got my hands on Jewels of the Sun I promised to never ever read series and/or sequels out of order (If I was aware of the series and/or sequel status)

    And I’m thinking maybe we should all make a series pact. When I start I’ll let you know and we can do it together.

  • 5. Slave Driver  |  September 19, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I’ve already started book 2. I never intended my ms to be a series but my Beta readers wanted to know what happens after “the End”. I have to keep reminding myself that it also has to be a stand alone, so I try to play catch up without it looking like info-dump. There’s a fine line…

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  September 19, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    There’s a fine line…

    You know I’ve seen it done with a heavy hand, but as a reader it felt intentional. *and it worked*

    Then I saw the other way. *shudder* It is definitely a fine line. I think that’s why I’m going to end up writing connected books. Where the secondary characters are cameos until their stories are told. I don’t think I have the stamina for a series.

    Anyway, the best of luck. Let me know how it goes.

  • 7. coffeegirl88  |  September 19, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I like the connected stories better than series books. It’s always kinda fun when you’re reading and you wonder which secondary characters will get their own stories.

    A series pact huh? Maybe.

  • 8. Slave Driver  |  September 19, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    “A series pact huh? “

    So, that wouldn’t involve, like, spitting onto our palms and shaking or mixing blood drops, right? Cuz I’d be more inclined to join if, to seal the deal, we all ate sundaes simultaneously, or something…

  • 9. Melissa Blue  |  September 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Cynthia, I feel the same way. I think that’s why I like trilogies. I’m getting different MCs, but the same feel of a story.

    Does that make sense?

    Anyway, don’t worry, I’ll bring you to the dark side eventually.

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  September 19, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    So, that wouldn’t involve, like, spitting onto our palms and shaking or mixing blood drops, right?

    Uh, no. That’s just gross. Maybe why I never had friends when I was young. They wanted to share germs, I wanted to read.

    Root Beer Floats sound about right, though, and then we can have a deal.

  • 11. coffeegirl88  |  September 20, 2008 at 12:41 am

    I think this thread jinxed me. I picked up a book today, one I started to read before only to realize it wasn’t the 1st in a series, read the 1st book and settled in this afternoon to read it. Only one problem. It’s book 3 in the series. I’m going to read it anyway, then hunt down book 2. I need to reduce this tbr pile. Hey, stop laughing, I mean it, I need to read more than I buy.

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:06 am

    *gasp* You saw me laughing? lol

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

