Day 12: My Writing Anniversary

September 13, 2008 at 5:12 pm 8 comments

It just hit me, today, four years ago I started to write. I have to go into my storage later so I just might dig out those typewritten pages of my first novel. How freaking cool.

I can’t say these past four years have been lovely. I’ve had many ups and downs and this year more downs than ups. But I think all of it just solidified that I’m supposed to be a writer. The hardest was getting over my release date being the same day my cousin buried her six-week old baby. I can’t say I’m healed or that tears still don’t come to my eyes when I think about all I’ve been through, but I’m writing throughout all of it.

What keeps you writing? When was your writing anniversary?

Today’s total: 3 chapters edited

Left to write: ~9,000 words

Entry filed under: revising, writing. Tags: , .

Day 12: But Reporting on Day 11 Day 13: Another Lecture on Beginnings

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Windy Lynn  |  September 13, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Happy anniversary 🙂

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  September 14, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Thank you, Windy. I’m hoping there will be many, many more years of writing for me.

  • 3. coffeegirl88  |  September 14, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Happy Anniversay!!!

    When is mine? Um, well, . . . let’s see I had a poem published when I was in sixth grade (1981) of course that was a homework assignment. I started writing in ernest in 1982 (God am I old) when my Dad moved us to MD from NY (not NYC please). It took me years to develop any real friendships so I wrote stories to keep me company. Most were stories of how I wished high school was going. Nice escape in some ways and I have most of that work still right here on my hard drive.

    What keeps me writing? It’s something I’m really good at. Besides casting my favorite actors/musicians as my heroes means I can day dream about having sex with them all day and call it story research.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 14, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks.

    Besides casting my favorite actors/musicians as my heroes means I can day dream about having sex with them all day and call it story research.

    And, seriously, I thought that’s why every romance writer kept writing.

    Lastly, I promise to visit you when they put you in the old folks home for writers. I hear it’s a very lively place. 😉

  • 5. coffeegirl88  |  September 15, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Oh good, I’ll have visitors! I was worried I might get lonely.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  September 15, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Snort.

  • 7. Jess  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Happy anniversary! Sorry I haven’t popped by, been busy with my “Birthday Countdown Contest” (which you have not entered? *shock*).

    I don’t remember when I began writing my own stories. But I started to take myself seriously on November 1, 2005. So I’ll be celebrating three years soon. 🙂

  • 8. Abigail McKenley  |  September 16, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Happy Belated Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

