Day 10: No, I can’t Count

September 12, 2008 at 4:20 am 2 comments

At the moment my clock reads 9:11. And really I just want to point out how powerful words are. Nine-Eleven can bring so many images to your brain, so many feelings can rise to the surface, two words yet so powerful.

Now, after I sulked for most of the day I opened up my word document and wrote out the sex scene. There is so much I have to layer in later, but it’s good for what it is. The conflict is the fact Brice doesn’t want to hurt Hazel. He’s convinced sex with her will change everything. He’s also trying to reinforce a negative belief he’s been holding forever. *sorry for the psychobabble* Lust and Hazel talks him into having sex and at the end of the scene the heroine admits, at least to herself, he might be right about hurting her. If that doesn’t ruin great sex then I don’t know what can.

Oh, the conflict abounds and as they say, the plot thickens.

All I have to do now is go back and revise the first three chapters. As is, they don’t mirror the last half of the novella. I hit the true conflict and know my characters better. Who knows what my word count will look like once I do that. So until then I’m going to hold off on writing more scenes. I’d hate to go over 30k and have to cut.

Today’s total: 1,258

Left to write: 9,847

BLEEPING YAY!!!!!!

EDITED: To correct the number of day

Entry filed under: writing. Tags: , .

Day 9: 9/11 Day 12: But Reporting on Day 11

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  September 13, 2008 at 7:47 am

    If that doesn’t ruin great sex then I don’t know what can.

    You betcha. :-/
    Good luck on the revisions (but you don’t need it). 🙂

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  September 13, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Thank you, but really it’s just layering in character. Those three chapters are just bare bones i.e. plot with dialogue around it.

    And, yeah, I definitely ruined her afterglow.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

