Day 9: 9/11

September 11, 2008 at 9:42 pm 4 comments

I was 16 on 9/11/01. That morning that whole day and the days, months following after it still stay with me. Since I hate crying I’ll probably keep my t.v. off. Heck, I’m getting teary eyed just thinking about it. But when I get home from work I’m going to put on my NYFD shirt and hug the shit out of my kids.

What do you plan to do today?

Entry filed under: not sure what to label this as. Tags: , .

Day 9: Content and Brain Dead Day 10: No, I can’t Count

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffeegirl88  |  September 12, 2008 at 3:46 am

    I tried to have as normal a day as possible. The one thing I did, even before putting water on for coffee was put our flag up.

    What was school like that day?

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  September 12, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Thankfully, I didn’t have school today. I go Monday’s and Wednesday. It was pretty much a normal day for me, too. But every time I had to write down the date it gave me a little jolt.

  • 3. coffeegirl88  |  September 12, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    No no, I meant in 2001.

    I was a sophmore when the Challenger exploded and the classes I had after that were surreal.

    I’ve been turning it around in my head since I read your post trying to imagine what it must have been like at my high school. I grew up about 45 miles West of DC.

    Oh and don’t for a second think that you’re alone on writing the date. My mother absolutely refuses to.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 12, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Yes, it was my senior year in high school. *I graduated a year early* My mother has been a faithful viewer of the Today show, but today she wasn’t watching the news. It was some kind of movie. It was showing a plane going into a building. I just thought why would my Mom be watching that. And then it dawned on me, it wasn’t a movie. At that point I kind of just sunk into the couch. And then the second plane hit and they started calling it a terrorist attack.

    Me, being 16, I hadn’t known my life and everyone else in America had changed. I went to school and every class had it on the tv. I can’t even remember if it was a normal school day. I lived on the West Coast, but some of the teachers knew people who lived in NY.

    But seriously I can’t remember most of the details that day. I do remember Peter Jennings *I think that’s his name. He later died from lung cancer* broadcasting in the morning. And when I got home from school he was still on the t.v. But this time his shirt was unbuttoned, he looked exhausted, but I’m sure they couldn’t remove his ass with dynamite. I kept thinking this is what a real reporter is supposed to be doing. Not reporting about Britney Spears or Brad Pitt, but letting us know that our world had changed.

    So, basically even at 16 I walked in a fog that day. I’m sure I’m not the only one.

    As for your mother, she’s lucky. Every year I consider calling into work. It just doesn’t seem like I should have to work. No, I didn’t lose any loved ones, but I definitely lost something that day.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

