Day 8: Very Good Writing Day

September 10, 2008 at 6:40 am 4 comments

Finally transposed those handwritten pages. Since I had my music up loud and was in the zone, I can’t tell you if they were any good. They moved the plot, so that’s all I can ask for.

Didn’t study though I have another test tomorrow. That should be fun.

But you are here to see how well I did. Here are the totals:

This week: 3, 071 words

Today’s totals: 1,384

Left to write: 11,105

Not bad for slacking off this whole weekend. But the best news is I’m finally at the love scene. I’ve stopped at the very first kiss in the car. That kiss is going to lead them into the house and finally consummate. The only thing I need to figure out between now and when I get back to the ms is the goal for the scene.

Sex is just meaningless *in a novel* unless you have a goal. I’m thinking they both know it’s a bad idea to have sex, especially after the dinner they just had.  I’m definitely going to work from the angle they both need each other and aren’t ready to verbalize what’s really going on–that they are falling in love. That’s a good goal, but it still needs more.

Anyway, it’s 11:34 and I’m off to bed. The only thing I regret about tonight is the two cups of coffee I chugged to get those words down.

Entry filed under: writing. Tags: , .

Day 7: Part 2 Day 9: Content and Brain Dead

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Abigail McKenley  |  September 10, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Great job! Sounds like the story is moving along.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    It is. After this scene it’ll go pretty fast. I’m kind of hoping to be under 30k by the time I’m done so I can go back and layer. But if I’m at 30k or over I’m sure I can cut what isn’t necessary.

  • 3. pamwritesromance  |  September 10, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    “I’m thinking they both know it’s a bad idea to have sex, especially after the dinner they just had.”

    OMG, I almost bathed my monitor in diet Coke reading this.

    “James, you know I want to commit to you in every way, but I did eat the entire burrito.”

    “Damnit, Janet. I know that better than anyone–I had the chili con carne for the love of God. But I must have you *burp* now!”

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    *I had the chili con carne for the love of God. *

    Lol. Now that you mentioned it they did have Italian food. Known for it’s tasty garlic.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

