Day 2 in Self-Imposed Deadline

September 5, 2008 at 5:16 am 10 comments

This morning started off horribly. I pulled words from the air and slapped them in my ms. I ended up with 800 words that didn’t excite me at all. In fact, I called them craptastic, which I deem the worst of the worst. I whined and moaned until I dragged some writing buddies into brainstorming. More like held up Chat and cried, “It takes a village to write and novel. And today, folks, you are that village.” I may not have been as eloquent, but I hope you’re getting the picture.

This is the exact idea I came up with:

They still do there dance around their hurts, but this time Brice uses the ocean to distract her and cool her down. Things get hot and she stops it when she spots two men on his porch. “I’m guessing that’s your father.”

Seriously. That’s it and I turned that 800 word scene into 1500 words. It didn’t turn out that way 100 percent, but close enough. At the end of this scene I realized what had been missing–a purpose. Nothing was driving the scene. The only goals I did have were negative goals for both characters, “Don’t talk about what’s really bothering me.” Instead I turned it into, “I want to make Hazel do such-n-such.”

After that the flood gates opened. I now have the next scene in mind that will close out Chapter 6 and a place to start Chapter 7.

Total words for the day: 1,500

What’s left to write: 15,000 words

Stick around, because the victory may still be bloody. I mean I have to make these characters fall in love in 15000 words. Let’s not forget I still haven’t written the sex scene. And boy I can’t wait. No, I mean, my characters can’t wait.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Totally Stealing from JC Day 4, But Reporting On day 3

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  September 5, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Then rip those flood gates open and get busy, you.
    (And welcome to WP, lol).

  • 2. pamwritesromance  |  September 5, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Rock on with your bad writing self, Melissa! I know you can do it because you are a FABULOUS WRITER!!!

  • 3. Melissa Blue  |  September 5, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Yes, I’m loving WordPress. And I’m hoping tonight I can get the next chapter down. Because I can’t wait to write that love scene. It’s going to be like nothing else I’ve written. Now if only it’ll come out as good as I’m imagining.

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  September 5, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Thanks, Pam. I hope so.

  • 5. Celia Yeary  |  September 6, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    If you write novels like you blog, you should do fantaxicab, wondrofurous, what’s that word you used? Your Wild Rose friend, Celia

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  September 7, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Celia, I prefer the word Fan-Tab.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  • 7. Amie Stuart  |  September 7, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    You’re half done? I hate you! LOL

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  September 8, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Amie, just imagine if I only worked part-time and no longer had to go to school. Soon that will be a reality. Think of all the ways you’ll hate me then.

    Lol.

  • 9. Amie Stuart  |  September 9, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    You are MEAN!!!!! LOL

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  September 9, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Lol. I need to get emoticons nows. or something like that.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

