A BUSY LITTLE BEE

August 25, 2008 at 3:36 pm 6 comments

So, research, a drool worthy man–heck, just the drool worth man–should have left me exhausted. Nope. I’m on a roll and I’d rather not stop it. I think my writing mojo is making up for lost time. Thank you writing Gods.

I now have a sucknopsis done. 4 pages double-spaced. The longest sucknopsis I’ve ever written. It will stay as is until I finish the story. I also have blurb. I also wrote 3 pages in the my notebook. I’m thinking my characters aren’t going to meet until the beginning of chapter to. In romance, especially a novella, they should meet in the first few pages. I’ll angst about that later, because the words are coming, so who cares.

Because you read this far here’s the shoddy blurb I slapped together*it’s way too long. I’ll angest about that later too*:

Hazel Garvey doesn’t like to think of herself as a workaholic, but then again she gets her home mail sent to her job. It’s how she ends up reading the Spam mail that promises her “We’ll provide everything you need”. Right. Like giving her back the spark in a career she used to love—and a woman does have needs. The Spam letter gets more promising after Hazel’s boss tells her a vacation is in order or else. A surprising demand since she’s the top Interior Designer for their company. She must be bad off. Hazel grudgingly takes the vacation and the offer for a month long—free—stay on a secluded island. This break from her interior designing career needs to work or she’ll be in the unemployment line.

Brice Creed is already standing in that unemployment line after getting sacked from his last job. Being raised in a large family has at least given him the ability to have a plan B, which for him is starting his own renovating business. How he’ll make enough money is still a little fuzzy. Then opportunity knocks in the form of a woman who can change his life—Hazel Garvey, Interior Designer to the Gods. If she can decorate his house he’ll be swimming in enough money to start his own business. Now all he has to do is convince her.

Yes, way to long.

Other than that how’s your Monday going?

Entry filed under: Mojo, rambling, writing.

SO LOVING THIS BOOK ALREADY CROWS OF DOUBT

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  August 26, 2008 at 4:28 am

    I have an appointment with an agent next month. I have to write a synopsis of my (*^*^$^(%*&^)(* masterpiece by September 13th.

    Freak! Argh! Grrr.

    "We're gonna need a bigger boat."

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  August 26, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Slave, deep breathes and then you can sob hysterically.

    Now here are ingridients for writing a synopsis:

    1. Plenty of Wine.
    2. Plenty of Whining.
    3. Plenty of Cursing
    Then voila you have a synopsis

  • 3. Slave Driver  |  August 26, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    Yeah, at least the book is done, well except for that chapter 1 rewrite because it sucks, and the synopsis.

    Cursing & wine I got. Not much for the whine thought. I could throw things instead.

  • 4. Tabitha C. Maine  |  August 27, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    I really like your synopsis. I can visualize a lot of great ideas with it. -It totally works, girl! But then again, I’m nobody so what do I know. *she starts to cry, rocking back and forth in a dark corner*
    …One thing I’ve noticed, you come up with the best character names. They are so natural sounding but special at the same time.

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:56 am

    I could throw things instead.

    Whatever gets it done is my saying.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  August 28, 2008 at 4:57 am

    They are so natural sounding but special at the same time.

    Picking names is probably the only thing I do in the first draft with real thought put into it.For me the names have to be right. It’s kind of like if someone calls me Michelle. You’re just not going to get the same reaction from me if you had called me Melissa. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

