PLOTTING IS MY NEW BEST FRIEND: and I blame Samantha Graves

August 17, 2008 at 2:15 pm 1 comment

Some of you might know I’ve been having problems when it comes to completing a story. For me it was a mixture of fear of the blank page, emotional barriers, publishing having sucked my soul out at some point, and because of all those things I’d lost the drive to finish a story or care if I did. *now that’s bad sentence structure. do as I say, not as I do….*

Back to the point: Things needed to change. I found my love of writing again. I went and got my soul back from publishing. Yet the fear of the blank page still lingered. I think it always will. It’s what separates the writer from the writer who finishes books.

So, in order to not let the word-well run dry I decided to plot three scenes ahead. I lied to myself and said, “you really can’t call that plotting.” You have to understand I’ve been a die hard panster since the beginning. That’s how I identified myself and was damn proud of winging my whole novel. But winging Jorja’s story just left me staring at a blank screen with no words wanting to show up for duty.

Yesterday changed everything. After two weeks of not writing *due to other circumstances, not fear of the blank page* I broke down and plotted this story to the end. I wasn’t even aware that I was leaving pansting behind to become a plotter. I know more scenes will come that isn’t on the map, but the fact I planned out 10 scenes ahead, including turning points, the black moment and the resolution…I, Melissa Blue, am a plotter.

I blame Samantha Graves. It’s her fault, with all those spreadsheets and knowing how the story will end before she writes one single word. She beckoned me to the dark side with the rest of the plotters of the world.

You know I’m not too mad, because I ended up writing 1500 words yesterday and a scene already in mind to write today.

All I can say, Pansters be aware. You just might be next.

Entry filed under: plotting, Samantha Graves, writing.

NOT SURE IF YOU’VE NOTICED PROGRESS, BUT NO PICS

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  August 20, 2008 at 3:49 am

    I’m sure Sam would be thrilled to take the blame for this. Hey, if she can get Lani to plot, she can turn anyone.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

