NOT SURE IF YOU’VE NOTICED

August 16, 2008 at 7:35 pm 2 comments

But I’ve been feeling chatty. I’m hoping this will bleed over to Jorja’s story. Now I’ve decided I’m just want to finish this story, which means I’m running headlong to the end. I’ve got a new plot board that’s much bigger than my last one. On one side I have Jorja’s story. On the other side I have the story that’s due in December. That story should be easy to write for many of reasons:

1. I’ve plotted out all turning points.
2. I’ve got the opening scenes in mind.
3. Since it’ll be in third person I’ve made sure they’ve both got a goal. Yes, I’ve even nailed down the heroine’s.
4. It’ll be 120 pages long.
5. Unspeakable torture has been promised to me if I don’t get it done in December. You’ve got to love your fellow authors.

But Jorja, well, I can tell you now that story is going to be crap and that’s not beating myself up. I’m getting down the absolute essentials. And because I need it I’m still going to type THE END, once I’ve done that. So far I’ve only have 10 more scenes to write and that includes the last three turning points. This story will end up being, maybe, 200 pages. No complaints, because it’ll be DONE.

The great thing about all of this is if I finish these two early I can go back to another story that I stalled on. I figured out how to fix the conflict. It’ll mean going back and ripping out a few scenes to re-write, but I’m up for the challenge. Not sure if that story will be 50k or longer. We’ll see.

But, I must get some more writing done today if I plan to be done by the end of August. Because, you know, I need to get the other one in. I’m not into unspeakable torture.

Anyway, I’ll be back Monday (or tomorrow, depending) with a picture of the collage I made for Jorja.

And of course I’m doing all this to NOT think about my submission. Gotta love being a writer.

Entry filed under: deadlines, Jorja, plotting, writing goals.

YOU’VE GOT MAIL PLOTTING IS MY NEW BEST FRIEND: and I blame Samantha Graves

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edie  |  August 17, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Mel, you’ll do it all. I love your determination.

    I’m finishing the 2nd draft of my novella today. I’m determined too!

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  August 17, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    You know, I just want to write stories again. I know that’s what is pushing me so hard. I have to tell these characters stories and it’s less about being published and seeing my book in my hands. I know that’ll come, but right now it’s about the story.

    Also, if you need me I’ll be in the cheering section for you, You can dooooo it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,224 hits

