THIS WORD WILL HAUNT ME FOREVER

August 12, 2008 at 5:30 am 9 comments

Envelope. Envelope. I’m going to have nightmares about this word. Envelope.

Not to be confused with envelop.

Oh, God. I need a stiff, large drink.

Envelope. Envelop.

Oh, God. Production. Galleys.

Stiff, large drink.

…now back to the regular schedule.

Entry filed under: galleys, See Megan Run, typos.

SPEAKING OF STORIES I DON’T WANT TO READ ANYMORE ME AND MR. ADOBE HAVE A THING GOING ON

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Slave Driver  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Waived and waved. Right there with you, sister. Stupid MS Spell check… why is there not a “Spell what I mean not what I wrote” check?
    Stupid Bill Gates and his stupid spell check.DRBs.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    “Spell what I mean not what I wrote”

    I would like to second and third that sentiment. The problem is that damn word is in the FINAl copy of my book. There is nothing to be done, but not read the damn thing ever again. Envelope. Argh.

    Now other problem words even:

    Down vs. Done
    There vs. Their or even They’re
    Your vs. You’re
    Woman vs. Women

    I know the difference, but when I’m in a frenzy typing or in the zone while reading/editing I miss these words. Every time.

    Hmm, we should start a campaign for the “Spell what I mean not what I wrote” Check.

  • 3. Slave Driver  |  August 12, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    That’s why I keep my older brother around. He’s in the process of proofing my work. Plus, you know, I might need a kidney one day, but it’s more likely I’ll need his liver…

    And you could always ask your publisher to sell your book with a little thing of correction tape as an “Added Bonus”; maybe put a little post-it note inside the cover with a “If you see any of the following words…please correct to reflect what I meant not what I wrote.”

    You know the fastest way to pull an audience in is to get them involved…(grin)

  • 4. Pam  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    “No, honey–don’t talk to the crazy lady. She’s in a production schedule and has lost her mind. We’ll come back when she’s medicated with mixed drinks, lots of chocolate and thoughts of pretty men.”

  • 5. Melissa Blue  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Plus, you know, I might need a kidney one day, but it’s more likely I’ll need his liver…

    No, no. That’s what mother’s are for….

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  August 13, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Pam, I know, I’ve officially losted it. Before I was borderline and could hide it very well. Not anymore.

    I’m looking forward to Friday. Wine will flow like a river.

  • 7. Slave Driver  |  August 13, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Where is this river at? Cuz I’ve been singing this song in my head…

    “O sisters let’s go down,
    Let’s go down, come on down,
    O sisters let’s go down,
    Down in the river to pray(Hic).”

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  August 13, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Two things:
    I’ve officially losted it

    Only further proves my mind state. I regressed to 1st grade grammar.

    Also, Driver, the river will be in my shower. Kind of like moonshine, but you can drink it with your pinky out. Classy.

  • 9. Slave Driver  |  August 14, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Slave driver runs to grab her monicle and top hat to go with the Tuxedo jackst she wears driving…

    “Hey kids, wait for me! I want classy bathtub wine too! Can we squish the grapes barefoot like on “I Love Lucy?”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

