ANOTHER WRITING MILESTONE BROUGHT TO YOU BY…

August 10, 2008 at 4:46 pm 13 comments

Melissa Blue.

You know I’m always talking about writing moments. I like to them of them as defining moments. They may not always be big huge ones. Like your first sale and when you get an agent. But most of them are made up of the little things. Like the first time you get a detailed rejection letter. Or even when you get the rejection that says, “send me your next ms.” Those are milestones even though they may not seem like it.

I had one a while back and figured I should throw it out there into universe. There are times when things happen and you don’t give them justice. Well, I was approached to do a novella for an anthology. On the outside this may not be a huge thing. Nothing may come out of this. *Especially if the other author thinks my writing sucks butt* But this author approached me. I had a moment when I was trying to be professional, but thinking “oh, my god, I’m a real writer.”

I really believe there is a huge difference between “writing” and just writing and defining yourself and feeling like a WRITER. For me it’s kind of like the moment you realize you’re a mother or a wife or doctor or nurse whatever path you chose in life. There’s comes a time when you stop, have a moment and realize, “hey, I am a such-such.” I think the progression is so slow you don’t even realize it until someone else approaches with the title you’ve associated yourself with.

When this author approached me I had one of those moments. Thought I should share. Hey, I’m a writer.

Entry filed under: writer.

AGENTS, WATERSLIDES, AND BAD REVIEWS SPEAKING OF STORIES I DON’T WANT TO READ ANYMORE

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raine  |  August 10, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    Hey, I’m a writer.

    Damn straight.

  • 2. Melissa Blue  |  August 10, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Lol. I love you, Raine. But, yes, I am a writer. It took a while for the realization to hit me, but I’m loving the title.

  • 3. Caryn Caldwell  |  August 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Congratulations! And, yes, you’re definitely a writer. Be proud!

  • 4. Melissa Blue  |  August 10, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I am. It’s just strange to try out this new skin called “writer”. I know I’ve been writing close to four years now, but it’s just different now. It’s no longer something I do in my spare time. It’s my career. It’s one of my places in life. Strange, but there you have it.

  • 5. Slave Driver  |  August 11, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    We are both “writers”, but you are an “Author” (cue celestial music and bright beam of sunlight shining on your head), I am not yet an “author” (cue dull clanging sound) You are the “P” word.

    Published.

    I am only the “I” word (no, not idiot, internet ) although either one applied to me I suppose.

  • 6. Melissa Blue  |  August 11, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Driver, you only have yourself to blame for this.

    *dragging out soapbox*

    Defintion of Writer:

    1. a person who writes

    2.a person whose work or occupation is writing; now, specif., an author, journalist, or the like

    Definition of Author:

    1. a person who makes or originates something; creator; originator “author of liberty”

    2. a writer of a book, article, etc.; often specif., a person whose profession is writing books

    Now where in those definitions do you see “Published” being the defining factor? Hmmm….

    You may have been joking, but don’t joke like that. Many people see unpublished as something to look down on.*forgetting at some point they were also unpublished* I don’t. Being published just means I got the luck of the draw. There are many, many people out there who have written a better book than I, but that doesn’t make them any less of an author than I. If you go by the definition.

    *kicks soapbox back under the bed.*

  • 7. Slave Driver  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    $390.00 at the Jackson Hole Writers conference and I could have gotten that from you for free??? Jeesh!!!(headsmack)

    That was the definition we were given there. Writer vs. Author. Kind of reminds me of the “Alien vs Predator” movie…

    No really I was kidding kind of. I had to sit thru a very arrogant and snotty “Author” who not only treated us like scum she’d found attached to the bottom of her very expensive New York shoe but then listen to her knock readers (wait…aren’t readers the people she needs to make her book a success? Oh, wait, no, she’s a literary novelist, she just needs critics to fawn…sorry)

    And I’m not trying to blame anyone. I celebrate your success because it means that there is hope out there for the *rest* of us. You’ll see me, eventually. I’m still editing. Didn’t the agent you contacted at Nationals tell you “Always submit your best work.” ? Mine isn’t in a drawer, it just isn’t ready.

    In the meantime I’ll play “Crouching Writer, Hidden Author”…

  • 8. Melissa Blue  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    First, I give free advice all the time and as they say you get what you pay for.

    Second, “Crouching Writer, Hidden Author” is snort worthy.

    Third, that definition of writer/author I find to be crap. No offense to the people who believe it or created the difference. You can seriously send Ms. Snob my way. I’ve met people like her and she sounds toxic.

    Lastly, “I’m still editing.”

    So am I. So, we’re still in the same boat. Potato, Patatow. Writer. Author. It’s just how you like to look at it.

  • 9. Slave Driver  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Tell me Mel, does this boat we’re in have a bar? Cuz I haven’t seen a waitress and I need my wine refilled…

  • 10. Melissa Blue  |  August 12, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Dear, I have the new wines. You know the ones that come in the can. I don’t need a bar. I bring the bar.

  • 11. Slave Driver  |  August 12, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Wine comes in a can now? I’m familiar with wine in a box. Where are these new wines? ‘Cuz if they come in a can the size of a soda can I might invest in a vending machine in the basement to go with the Karaoke, Slot machine, full size air hockey and the electronic dart board…
    (Slave Driver drums her fingers together and whispers “Excellent” in her best Mr Burns immitation…)

  • 12. Melissa Blue  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    You can read the article here:
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/5114468/

    And I want an invite to that room.

  • 13. Slave Driver  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    So ultimatly they should package it in “Juice Box” size. Right now I call the big boxes of wine a “Mommy Juice Box” but to find the right size straw you need to buy a jumbo size “Pixi-Styx” and shank off both ends, feeding the sugary goodness inside to a neighbor child and watch them zing off into the sunset, bouncing around the sidewalk like Riccochet Rabbit (bing-bing-BINGGGGG). Cans? I don’t know if I could go with cans, it too “Beer”-ish. And I hate beer. *Not that there is anything wrong with liking beer or the people who drink it* (Slave Driver looks over he shoulder to see if any Beer-fanatics are standing behind her waving pitchforks, torches and Bud-lite t-shirts)

    And anytime you’re in Utah, stop on by Casa DelDriver, where the Karaoke is sung out of tune but if you’re sober enough to notice it’s your own fault and you need another drink anyway.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’m a Twit-Head

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

You Like Me!

  • 9,220 hits

